2019

steirischer herbst ’19
Grand Hotel Abyss

Director
Ekaterina Degot

Festival dates
19.9.–13.10.2019

Curatorial team
Director and Chief Curator
Ekaterina Degot

Deputy Director
Henriette Gallus

Head of Curatorial Affairs
Christoph Platz

Senior Curator
David Riff

Curators
Mirela Baciak
Dominik Müller

“The title of the festival’s program this year is Grand Hotel Abyss—a striking metaphor used by philosopher Georg Lukács. Lukács described the European intellectual and cultural scene as ‘a beautiful hotel, equipped with every comfort, on the edge of an abyss, of nothingness, of absurdity. And the daily contemplation of the abyss between excellent meals or artistic entertainments, can only heighten the enjoyment of the subtle comforts offered.’ Lukács’s image rhymes with the self-presentation of Graz and the surrounding Austrian county of Styria as a Genussregion, a culinary and aesthetic pleasure zone. It is one of many bubbles of sublime gastronomy, wellness, and organic comfort arising in times of heightened inequality—places custom-tailored for business travelers and cultural tourists, where praise of heirloom products has creepy crypto-nationalist undertones, and where the abyss of radical social exclusion, economic crisis, and all-out military conflict is lurking just around the corner, approaching in slow motion.
The contrast between a comfortable life and the fear of apocalypse, the relation between pleasure (Genuss, as one likes to put it in Styria) and oblivion can be found everywhere. This year, the performances, installations, and films will transport you from Brexit-tormented Britain to a bizarre modernist hotel in former Yugoslavia, from the opulent Austrian spa Bad Gastein to remote Zugdidi in Georgia. It will involve Albrecht Dürer, the French Revolution, spy stories, apples, a game in which you try to avoid poverty, and a dance that tells us something about the future of sex. Georg Lukács … will wink at us, too, through a collection of singular objects we assembled, which may or may not relate to his adventurous life.”
—e-flux newsletter

"The contrast between a comfortable life and the fear of apocalypse, the relation between pleasure (Genuss, as one likes to put it in Styria) and oblivion can be found everywhere. This year, the performances, installations, and films will transport you from Brexit-tormented Britain to a bizarre modernist hotel in former Yugoslavia, from the opulent Austrian spa Bad Gastein to remote Zugdidi in Georgia. It will involve Albrecht Dürer, the French Revolution, spy stories, apples, a game in which you try to avoid poverty, and a dance that tells us something about the future of sex. Georg Lukácz (…) will wink at us, too, through a collection of singular objects we assembled, which may or may not relate to his adventurous life."
—guide book

In her second year as artistic director and chief curator of steirischer herbst, Ekaterina Degot and her team built upon the meaning of “pleasure” in the context of Styria and invited visitors to the Grand Hotel Abyss. The title was borrowed from the Marxist philosopher Georg Lukács, who, in his critique of the Frankfurt School, described left-wing intellectuals sitting in the abyss in a fictitious luxury resort and losing themselves in theoretical disputes, while capitalism and fascism seize power outside. The image aptly reflects the conformist hedonism of affluent European society and the jet-setting art world, which leads to the compartmentalizing of a lifestyle shaped by consumption, while ever-faster progressing climate change is threatening life on Earth, the Mediterranean is becoming a mass grave for refugees, and right-wing nationalistic powers are advancing around the world. The Styrian “capital of pleasure” provided a suitable backdrop for such a decadent hotel in the (European) abyss.

The opening speech by Degot and the opening performance by Zorka Wollny took place in the deliberately selected Renaissance courtyard of the stately Grazer Landhaus, a symbol for the “conspiracy of culture and power,” where Hanns Koren also gave the first festival speech in 1968. An “opening extravaganza” followed at the ostentatious Congress Graz, where liveried waiters served champagne and hors d’oeuvres (as part of the performance Tricks for Tips by Manuel Pelmuş), while artists such as Cibelle Cavalli Bastos, Jakob Lena Knebl and Markus Pires Mata, Gernot Wieland, and Erna Ómarsdóttir & Valdimar Jóhannsson presented performative speeches, installations, performances, and dance theater. The edition Echte Grazer Bernhardkugeln by Elmgreen & Dragset was also offered here—Welcome to the “Pleasant Apocalypse.”

Oscar Murillo’s installation at the Palais Attems referred to the politics of the Counter-Reformation and the colonial past of the Baroque city palace, which once housed the most important art collection in Styria (and was where, after the war, the British occupying forces brought the first Graz Festival into being). Social, economic, and private abysses also opened up at other places in Graz: in Jeremy Deller’s film Putin’s Happy, about the chaos of the pro-Brexit demonstrations on Parliament Square in London, and Jasmina Cibic’s multipart film essay on architecture as a political gift at the Künstlerhaus; in Artur Żmijewski’s bleakly ambivalent installation Plan B, inspired by the prepper scene, in the cellar of a staged clothing alteration shop on Girardigasse (the artist’s very first installation); in Andreas Siekmann’s monument Nach Dürer (After Dürer) on Griesplatz, a contemporary interpretation of Albrecht Dürer’s unrealized design for a Monument to the Vanquished Peasants (1525); and in Michael Portnoy’s four-channel installation Progressive Touch: Series 1 at the Helmut List Halle, in which dancers performed acrobatically perfected “better” sex.

At Orpheum, Keti Chukhrov and Guram Matskhonashvili staged the Global Congress of Post-Prostitution, and, at the Literaturhaus, Ekaterina Degot and David Riff narrated a fictionalized version of the life of Georg Lukács in the installation The Life and Adventures of GL.

Besides the installations, performances, and ideas in the core program of the Grand Hotel Abyss, interventions and counter-positions were added to the parallel program and musikprotokoll this year with the Murau-based project STUBENrein “as a festival within the festival.” As in the previous year, the herbstkantine (formerly the herbst Bar) was again part of the program.

Program

Grand Hotel Abyss

Opening ceremony

Opening Extravaganza

Installations

Performances

opposite positions

Visual Identity and Spatial Intervention

Interventions

Ideas

STUBENrein

Parallel Program

Festival opening

19.9., 5 pm
Landhaushof, Landhaus Graz
Zorka Wollny Voicers - Oratorio for Five Speakers and a Listening Crowd

7-9 pm
Congress Graz
Opening-Extravaganza: Performances, installations und surprise appearanes by Cibelle Cavalli Bastos, Alexander Brener und Barbara Schurz, Das Planetenparty Prinzip, Elmgreen & Dragset, Jule Flierl, Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata, and Manuel Pelmuș

9 pm
Special Performances by 
Gernot Wieland 
Erna Ómarsdottir & Vladimar Jóhannsson 

11 pm
Concert by Fatima Spar & The Freedom Fries


 

Venues

Akademie Graz

Alte Galerie in Schloss Eggenberg

Congress Graz

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal

Congress Graz, Saal Steiermark

Congress Graz, Stefaniensaal

Dom im Berg

Forum Stadtpark

Girardigasse 8 & Palais Attems

Grand Hôtel Wiesler

Grazer Kunstverein

Griesplatz

Großer Minoritensaal

Helmut List Halle

Kunsthaus Graz

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst und Medien

Landhaushof

Literaturhaus Graz

MUMUTH, Haus für Musik und Musiktheater

Maria Verkündigungskirche

Markthalle Eggenberg

Museum für Geschichte (Prunkraum 207)

Next Liberty

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Attems

Schlossberghotel–Das Kunsthotel

Theater im Palais

esc medien kunst labor

herbstkantine, Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4

Publications

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Guide Book steirischer herbst ’19 (Graz: 2019)

→  Available here

Ekaterina Degot and David Riff (Eds.), A Pleasant Apocalypse. Notes from the Grand Hotel Abyss (Berlin: Hatje Cantz Verlag, 2020)

→  Available here

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2019

steirischer herbst ’19
Grand Hotel Abyss

Intendanz
Ekaterina Degot

Festivaldaten
19.9.–13.10.2019

Kuratorisches Team
Intendantin und Chefkuratorin
Ekaterina Degot

Stellvertretende Intendantin
Henriette Gallus

Leiter der Kuratorischen Belange
Christoph Platz

Senior Curator
David Riff

Kurator:innen
Mirela Baciak
Dominik Müller

„Der Titel des heurigen Kernprogramms lautet Grand Hotel Abyss (Grand Hotel Abgrund) – eine treffende Metapher des Philosophen Georg Lukács. Lukács beschrieb das Lebensgefühl europäischer Intellektueller und Kulturschaffender als ein „schönes, mit allem Komfort ausgestattetes Hotel am Rande des Abgrundes, des Nichts, der Sinnlosigkeit. Und der tägliche Anblick des Abgrundes, zwischen behaglich genossenen Mahlzeiten oder Kunstproduktionen, kann die Freude an diesem raffinierten Komfort nur erhöhen“. Lukács’ Bild entspricht der Selbstdarstellung von Graz und der umliegenden Steiermark als kulinarische und ästhetische Wohlfühlzone – eine der zahlreichen Blasen aus gehobener Gastronomie, Wellness und Bio-Komfort, die in Zeiten wachsender Ungleichheit entstehen, in denen das Lob althergebrachter Erzeugnisse gruselige kryptonationalistische Untertöne haben könnte, und wo der Abgrund der radikalen sozialen Ausgrenzung, der Wirtschaftskrisen und des militärischen Konflikts um die Ecke lauert oder in Zeitlupe auf uns zukommt.“
—e-flux newsletter

"Den Gegensatz zwischen einem angenehmen Leben und der Angst vor der Apokalypse, den Zusammenhang zwischen Genuss (ein in der Steiermark gern gebrauchter Begriff) und Vergessen findet man überall. In diesem Jahr führen die Aufführungen und Performances, Installationen und Filme des Festivals Sie von einem am Brexit leidenden Großbritannien bis zu einem bizarren modernistischen Hotel in Ex-Jugoslawien und vom prunkvollen österreichischen Kurort Bad Gastein bis in das entlegene Sugdidi in Georgien. Dabei werden Albrecht Dürer, die Französische Revolution, Spionagegeschichten, Äpfel, ein Spiel, bei dem man versucht, nicht arm zu werden, und ein Tanz, der uns etwas über Sex in der Zukunft verrät, eine gewisse Rolle spielen. Auch der Philosoph Georg Lukács, der die Wendung „Grand Hotel Abgrund“ in den 1930er-Jahren prägte, wird uns zublinzeln, durch eine Sammlung einzigartiger, von uns zusammengetragener Objekte, die mit seinem abenteuerlichen Leben in Verbindung stehen könnten."
—Guidebook

In ihrem zweiten Jahr als Intendantin und Chefkuratorin des steirischen herbst bauten Ekaterina Degot und ihr Team auf der Bedeutung des „Genuss“ gerade im Kontext der Steiermark auf und luden ein ins Grand Hotel Abyss. Der Titel war dem marxistischen Philosophen Georg Lukács entlehnt, der in seiner Kritik an der Frankfurter Schule das Bild von linken Intellektuellen zeichnete, die in einem fiktiven Luxusresort am Abgrund sitzen und sich in theoretischen Auseinandersetzungen verlieren, während draußen Kapitalismus und Faschismus die Macht übernehmen. Das Bild spiegelte treffend den konformistischen Hedonismus der europäischen Wohlstandsgesellschaft und jetsettenden Kunstwelt wider, die in Abschottung einen von Konsum geprägten Lebensstil führt, während der immer schneller voranschreitende Klimawandel das Leben auf der Erde bedroht, das Mittelmeer zum Massengrab für Flüchtende wird und rechtsnationalistische Kräfte global auf dem Vormarsch sind. Die „Genusshauptstadt“ der Steiermark lieferte eine adäquate Kulisse für solch ein dekadentes Hotel am (europäischen) Abgrund. 

Die Eröffnungsrede von Ekaterina Degot und die Eröffnungsperformance von Zorka Wollny fanden im bewusst gewählten Renaissance-Hof des herrschaftlichen Grazer Landhauses statt, ein Wahrzeichen für das „Komplott von Kultur und Macht“, wo auch Hanns Koren 1968 die erste Festrede gehalten hatte. Es folgte eine „Eröffnungs-Extravaganza“ im pompösen Congress Graz, wo livrierte Kellner Champagner und Horsd’œuvres servierten (als Teil der Performance Tricks for Tips von Manuel Pelmuş), während die Gäste performative Ansprachen, Installationen, Performances oder Tanztheater von Künstler:innen wie Cibelle Cavalli Bastos, Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata, Gernot Wieland oder Erna Ómarsdóttir & Valdimar Jóhannsson erleben konnten. Auch die Edition Echte Grazer Bernhardkugeln von Elmgreen & Dragset wurde hier angeboten – Welcome to the „Pleasant Apocalypse“.

Oscar Murillos Installation im Palais Attems bezog sich auf die Politik der Gegenreformation und die koloniale Vergangenheit des barocken Stadtschlosses, das einst die bedeutendste Kunstsammlung der Steiermark beherbergte (und wo nach dem Krieg die britischen Besatzer die ersten Grazer Festspiele ins Leben riefen). Gesellschaftliche, ökonomische und private Abgründe taten sich an weiteren Stellen in Graz auf: in Jeremy Dellers Film Putin’s Happy über das Chaos der Pro-Brexit-Kundgebungen auf dem Londoner Parliament Square und Jasmina Cibics mehrteiligem Filmessay über Architektur als politisches Geschenk im Künstlerhaus; in Artur Żmijewskis düster-ambivalenter, von der Prepper-Szene inspirierter Installation Plan B im Keller einer inszenierten Änderungsschneiderei in der Girardigasse (der ersten Installation des Künstlers überhaupt); in Andreas Siekmanns Monument Nach Dürer auf dem Griesplatz, einer zeitgenössischen Interpretation von Albrecht Dürers nie realisiertem Denkmal für die besiegten Bauern (1525); oder in Michael Portnoys 4-Kanal-Installation Progressive Touch: Series 1 in der Helmut List Halle, in der Tänzer:innen akrobatisch perfektionierten „besseren“ Sex performten. 

Im Orpheum inszenierten Keti Chukhrov und Guram Matskhonashvili den Global Congress of Post-Prostitution, und im Literaturhaus erzählten Ekaterina Degot und David Riff in der Installation The Life and Adventures of GL eine fiktionalisierte Version des Lebens von Georg Lukács.

Neben den Installationen, Performances und Ideen im Kernprogramm des Grand Hotel Abyss kamen in diesem Jahr noch Interventionen und Gegenpositionen hinzu, zum Parallelprogramm und dem musikprotokoll das Murauer Projekt STUBENrein „als Festival im Festival“. Wie im Vorjahr gab es die herbstkantine (ehemals herbst Bar). 

Programm

Grand Hotel Abyss

Eröffnungszeremonie

Eröffnungs-Extravaganza

Installationen

Performances

Ideen

STUBENrein

Parallelprogramm

Festivaleröffnung

19.9., 17:00
Landhaushof, Grazer Landhaus
Zorka Wollny, Voicers - Oratorio for Five Speakers and a Listening Crowd

19:00-21:00
Congress Graz
Eröffnungs-Extravaganza: Performances, Installationen und Überraschungsauftritte von Cibelle Cavalli Bastos, Alexander Brener und Barbara Schurz, Das Planetenparty Prinzip, Elmgreen & Dragset, Jule Flierl, Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata, und Manuel Pelmuș

21:00
Special Performances von 
Gernot Wieland 
Erna Ómarsdottir & Vladimar Jóhannsson 

23:00
Konzert von Fatima Spar & The Freedom Fries

Veranstaltungsorte

Akademie Graz

Alte Galerie in Schloss Eggenberg

Congress Graz

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal

Congress Graz, Saal Steiermark

Congress Graz, Stefaniensaal

Dom im Berg

Forum Stadtpark

Girardigasse 8

Grand Hôtel Wiesler

Grazer Kunstverein

Griesplatz

Großer Minoritensaal

Helmut List Halle

Kunsthaus Graz

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst und Medien

Landhaushof

Literaturhaus Graz

MUMUTH, Haus für Musik und Musiktheater

Maria Verkündigungskirche

Markthalle Eggenberg

Museum für Geschichte (Prunkraum 207)

Next Liberty

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Attems

Schlossberghotel–Das Kunsthotel

Theater im Palais

esc medien kunst labor

herbstkantine, Kaiser-Josef-Platz 4

Publikationen

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Guide Book steirischer herbst ’19 (Graz: 2019)

→  Hier erhältlich

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff (Hg.), A Pleasant Apocalypse. Notes from the Grand Hotel Abyss (Berlin: Hatje Cantz Verlag, 2020)

→  Hier erhältlich

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive