steirischer herbst Archive

steirischer herbst Archive, photo: Dietmar Reinbacher

The steirischer herbst Archive and Research Center serves to archive and document textual and visual sources related to modern and contemporary art and facilitates their scholarly treatment. The focus is on the history of steirischer herbst—an ongoing history with radical changes that is constantly reclassified and reinterpreted. Reflecting on one’s own activities is, not least, a productive and relevant feature of contemporary art production and institutions. steirischer herbst has been held annually without exception since 1967.

The archive material originating from the respective team and/or artistic direction of steirischer herbst forms the core of the Archive:

→  1967–1982 Founding Committee, Program Advisory Board, and Program Directorate
→  1983–1989 Peter Vujica
→  1990–1995 Horst Gerhard Haberl
→  1996–1999 Christine Frisinghelli
→  2000–2005 Peter Oswald
→  2006–2017 Veronika Kaup-Hasler
→  since 2018 Ekaterina Degot

In addition, steirischer herbst collects publications, print materials, and press releases, as well as image, video, and audio documents. The collection focuses on events and projects that took place in the course of the festival.

Every era brings its own understanding of what standards an archive should meet. Only recently have major festivals and contemporary art institutions begun to archive in accordance with scholarly standards.

Thus, since 2018, the executive team has begun to significantly professionalize the festival’s physical as well as digital archive. Thanks to a special grant from the State of Styria as well as exchanges with the Steiermärkische Landesbibliothek and the Universalmuseum Joanneum, valuable files could be cleaned, transferred, and reindexed. Hidden items were dug up, reassigned, and complemented, and additional rooms could be opened up.

Our users can examine the written records of past editions and continue their studies in the Research Center, where the Reference Library and Press Archive are also located. It is also possible to consult the holdings of the Media Archive.

steirischer herbst Archive, photo: Dietmar Reinbacher

Press Archive

The Press Archive contains coverage in the regional, national, and international press from 1967 onward.

File Archive

The File Archive contains written documents, concept papers, and miscellaneous printed matter. Posters and printed materials have been all scanned. In progress: documents until 1985 are completed. These archival records are stored in a growing number of boxes—currently 72.

Media Archive

The Media Archive consists of photographs, negatives, and color slides, as well as various sound, video, and film formats, with a focus on the documentation of steirischer herbst exhibitions and events.

The holdings comprise roughly 800 DVDs, 500 sound, video, and film recordings, and approximately 145 boxes of photos.

Reference Library

The academic Reference Library contains publications from 1960 onward as well as all publications on steirischer herbst and collaborations with institutions (Steirische Sommerakademie, Neue Galerie Graz, various galleries, …)

The current holdings amount to ca. 3,000 publications (brochures, catalogs, monographs).

steirischer herbst Archive, photo: Dietmar Reinbacher

Research on-site

A finding aid for the catalog helps to quickly search the current Archive holdings and provides an overview of the Reference Library holdings.

Searching for publications in the Reference Library is not yet possible.

steirischer herbst Archive, photo: Dietmar Reinbacher

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

Archiv steirischer herbst

Archiv steirischer herbst, Foto: Dietmar Reinbacher

Das Archiv und Recherchezentrum des steirischen herbst ist eine Einrichtung zur Archivierung, Dokumentation und wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung von Text- und Bildquellen zur modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunst. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Geschichte des steirischen herbst – eine fortwährende Geschichte mit Umbrüchen, die retrospektiv permanent neu eingeordnet und interpretiert wird. Die Reflexion der eigenen Aktivitäten ist nicht zuletzt ein produktives und inhaltlich relevantes Merkmal zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion und -institutionen. Der steirische herbst findet seit 1967 ohne Ausnahme jährlich statt.

Kern des Archivs bildet das originäre Archivgut, das durch das jeweilige Team beziehungsweise die Intendanz des steirischen herbst entstanden ist:

→  1967–1982 Gründungskommittee, Programm-Kuratorium und Programm-Direktorium
→  1983–1989 Peter Vujica
→  1990–1995 Horst Gerhard Haberl
→  1996–1999 Christine Frisinghelli
→  2000–2005 Peter Oswald
→  2006–2017 Veronika Kaup-Hasler
→  seit 2018 Ekaterina Degot

Ergänzend sammelt der steirische herbst Publikationen, Drucksachen und Presseveröffentlichungen, Bild-, Video- und Audiomaterial. Diese konzentrieren sich auf Veranstaltungen und Projekte, die im Zuge des Festivals stattgefunden haben.

Jede Zeit bringt ihr eigenes Verständnis davon mit sich, welchen Ansprüchen ein Archiv genügen soll. Erst jüngst haben große Festivals und Institutionen für zeitgenössische Kunst begonnen, auf wissenschaftlichem Standard zu archivieren.

So hat das Führungsteam seit 2018 begonnen, das physische sowie digitale Archiv des Festivals deutlich zu professionalisieren. Dank einer Sonderförderung des Landes Steiermark sowie dem Austausch mit der Steiermärkischen Landesbibliothek und dem Universalmuseum Joanneum konnten wertvolle Akten gereinigt, umgebettet und neu indiziert werden. Verstecktes wurde gehoben, neu zugeordnet und ergänzt – zusätzliche Räume konnten erschlossen werden.

Unsere Nutzer:innen haben die Möglichkeit, im Schriftgut der vergangenen Ausgaben zu recherchieren und ihre Studien im Recherchezentrum, wo sich auch die Präsenzbibliothek sowie das Pressearchiv befinden, fortzuführen. Ergänzend können die Bestände der Mediensammlung herangezogen werden.

Archiv steirischer herbst, Foto: Dietmar Reinbacher

Pressearchiv

Das Pressearchiv beinhaltet Berichterstattungen ab dem Jahr 1967 in der regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Presse.

Aktenarchiv

Das Aktenarchiv beinhaltet Schriftstücke, Konzepte und diverse Drucksorten. Die Erschließung der Plakate und Drucksachen ist abgeschlossen. In Arbeit: Dokumente bis 1985 erschlossen. Diese Archivalien werden in einer wachsenden Anzahl an Kartons – aktuell 72 – verwahrt.

Medienarchiv

Das Medienarchiv besteht aus Fotografien, Negativen und Farbdias sowie diversen Ton-, Video- und Filmformaten mit Fokus auf der Dokumentation der Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen des steirischen herbst.

Der Bestand umfasst rund 800 DVDs, 500 Ton-, Video und Filmaufnahmen sowie rund 145 Fotoboxen.

Präsenzbibliothek

Die wissenschaftliche Präsenzbibliothek beinhaltet Publikationen ab dem Jahr 1960 sowie alle Veröffentlichungen zum steirischen herbst und Kooperationen mit Institutionen (Steirische Sommerakademie, Neue Galerie Graz, diverse Galerien …).

Der Umfang beläuft sich auf ca. 3000 Publikationen (Broschüren, Kataloge, Monografien).

Archiv steirischer herbst, Foto: Dietmar Reinbacher

Recherche vor Ort

Ein Findbuch des Katalogbestands ermöglicht eine schnelle Suche des tatsächlichen Archivbestands und einen Überblick über den Bestand der Präsenzbibliothek.

Eine Recherche der Publikationen, die sich in der Bibliothek befinden, ist im Moment noch nicht möglich.

Archiv steirischer herbst, Foto: Dietmar Reinbacher

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive