2015

steirischer herbst ’15
Back to the Future—Remains, Traces and Other Testimonies

Director
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festival dates
25.9.–18.10.2015

Curatorial team
Chief Dramaturge & Curator: Kira Kirsch

Chief Dramaturge & Curator: Martin Baasch

Dramaturge: Flori Gugger

Music Dramaturge: Gerda Strobl

Production Dramaturge: Petra Pölzl

Curator Visual Art: Luigi Fassi

Artistic Assistance & Cooperations Visual Arts: Johanna Rainer

Conference Programming: Christiane Kühl

Curator Soundtracks: Normal Palm

“‘Back to the Future’: steirischer herbst 2015 takes a hard look both back and forward. The fact that the future can prove dangerous without a profound analysis of the present and the past, is made evident by a whole array of science-fiction and time-travel films such as ‘Metropolis’, ‘Terminator’ and ‘Back to the Future’ trilogy. Their futuristic and utopian film aesthetic cuts to the core of our modern reality of life with terrifying precision. However our cars aren’t lifting off the ground just yet, as US director Robert Zemeckis predicted in 1985. Instead, former visions of a menacing future have become part and parcel of our everyday lives.”
“Steirischer herbst playfully picks up on this idea, focusing in many different ways on the notion of ‘inheritance’—our present is yesterdays future. This not only involves reaching far back into the retro worlds of pop culture. Rather, current discussions concerning common cultural heritage—based on whatever definition—have long since become part of a discourse on the traditional values of western society in its dialogue with communities that work differently. What do er inherit and how do we handle this inheritance? What do we archive and what do we pass on to future generations? What must we say goodbye to? What criteria do we apply to the priorities of the future? What will today’s generation will be able to leave to their children? All of these questions crop up in different forms at steirischer herbst, reflected in a wide variety of forms within the programme.”
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler (original booklet translation)

steirischer herbst ’15 opened with the installation-based concert performance Specter of the Gardenia oder Der Tag wird kommen (Specter of the Gardenia or the Day Will Come) by Johannes Maria Staud and Josef Winkler at the Helmut List Halle. Under the leitmotif Back to the Future: Relikte, Spuren und andere Hinterlassenschaften (Back to the Future: Remains, Traces, and Other Testimonies), the festival took up the notion of heritage and inheritance with a playful allusion to the science fiction classic of the same name: “Our present is the yesterday’s future.”

The festival center was staged by the Italian architecture collective orrizontale as a retro-futuristic space station in the interior courtyard of the Graz Museum. The herbst exhibition, Hall of Half-Life (curated by Tessa Giblin), sketched an “archeology of the future” in the festival center with installations by artists such as Lara Almarcegui, Geoffrey Farmer, and Peter Galison. Joachim Hainzl’s private collection Recycled History and Gerard Byrne’s film Bright Sign, a commissioned work, were also presented there.

In addition, steirischer herbst also further developed its presence outside of Graz: the Austrian artist collective Fourdummies drove the herbst vehicle around the countryside and collected visions of the future from residents and festival visitors in Graz, Leoben, and Vordernberg.

The premieres and first performances in Graz included 7 Pleasures by Mette Ingvartsen, Adolf Hitler: Mein Kampf, Band 1 & 2 (Adolf Hitler: My Struggle, Volumes 1 & 2) by Rimini Protokoll (Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel), Black Moonshineby Theater im Bahnhof, Episodes 7, 8, and 9 of Life and Times by the Nature Theater of Oklahoma, and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s Golden Hours (As You Like It).

Program

Opening

Festival Centre

Theatre / Performance / Dance

Visual Arts

Theory / Discourse

Film

Literature

Music

Festival opening

25.09., 7:30 pm
Helmut List Halle
Johannes Maria Staud / Josef Winkler (AT) - Specter of the Gardenia oder Der Tag wird kommen 

Venues

< rotor >

Barbarasäle Vordernberg

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Dreifaltigkeitskirche

Festivalzentrum im GrazMuseum

Festivalzentrum im GrazMuseum, Barbarasäle Vordernberg, Porubsky Halle Leoben

Festivalzentrum, ORF 2

Forum Stadtpark

Generalmusikdirektion

Grazer Kunstverein

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Hauptplatz Vordernberg

Heimatsaal im Volkskundemuseum, Porubsky Halle Leoben, Montanuniversität Leoben

Helmut-List-Halle

Kasematten

Kulturhalle Hart bei Graz

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Kunsthalle Graz

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunsthaus Graz / Space 04

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien

Lesliehof im Joanneumsviertel, Murinsel

MUMUTH

Murinsel, Lesliehof im Joanneumsviertel

ORF-Landesstudio

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Attems

Porubsky Halle Leoben

Radwerk III Vordernberg

Raithaus Vordernberg

ReSoWi-Zentrum der Universität Graz, Heimatsaal im Volkskundemuseum

Schaumbad-Freies Atelierhaus Graz

Schauspielhaus Graz

Schubertkino

esc medien kunst labor

tag.werk

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publications

Program booklet of steirischer herbst 2015: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2015)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2015)

→  Available here

Tessa Giblin (ed.), Hall of Half-Life (London: Dent-de-Leone, 2015)​​

→  Available here

Sabine Schaschl, Luigi Fassi, Museum Haus Konstruktiv and steirischer herbst, Tobias Putrih (Ljubljana: gurgur editions, 2015)

→  Available here

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2015

steirischer herbst ’15
Back to the Future – Relikte, Spuren und andere Hinterlassenschaften

Intendanz
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festivaldaten
25.9.–18.10.2015

Kuratorisches Team
Leitende Dramaturgin & Kuratorin: Kira Kirsch

Leitender Dramaturg & Kurator: Martin Baasch

Dramaturg: Flori Gugger

Musikdramaturgin: Gerda Strobl

Produktionsdramaturgie: Petra Pölzl

Kurator Bildende Kunst: Luigi Fassi

Künstlerische Assistenz & Kooperationsprojekte Bildende Kunst: Johanna Rainer

Programmation Konferenz: Christiane Kühl

Kurator Soundtracks: Normal Palm

„‚Back to the Future‘: Der steirische herbst blickt 2015 gleichzeitig intensiv zurück und nach vorne. Dass die Zukunft ohne eine profunde Analyse von Gegenwart und Vergangenheit gefährlich werden kann, wird in einer ganzen Reihe von Science-Fiction- und Zeitreise-Filmen wie ‚Metropolis‘, ‚Terminator‘ und der ‚Back to the Future‘-Trilogie evident. Deren futuristische und utopische Filmästhetik hat unsere heutige Lebensrealität damals erschreckend genau getroffen. Allerdings heben wir mit unseren Autos heute nicht vom Boden ab, wie es US-Regisseur Robert Zemeckis 1985 voraussehen wollte. Vielmehr sind einstige Visionen einer als bedrohlich empfundenen Zukunft Bestandteil unseres Alltags geworden.“
„Der steirische herbst nimmt dieser Überlegung spielerisch auf und beschäftigt sich auf vielfältige Weise mit dem Begriff des ‚Erbes‘ – unsere Gegenwart ist die Zukunft von gestern. Dabei greifen wir nicht nur tief in die Retrowellen der Populärkultur hinein. Vielmehr sind aktuelle Diskussionen rund um ein – wie auch immer definiertes – gemeinsames kulturelles Erbe längst Teil eines Diskurses über die tradierten Wertvorstellungen der westlichen Gesellschaft im Dialog zu anders funktionierenden Gemeinschaften. Was erben wir und wie gehen wir damit um? Was archivieren wir und was geben wir an zukünftige Generationen weiter? Wovon müssen wir uns endgültig verabschieden? Nach welchen Kriterien setzen wir die Prioritäten für die Zukunft? Was wird die heutige Generation ihren Kindern hinterlassen können? All diese Fragen tauchen in unterschiedlichsten Formen im steirischen herbst auf und spiegeln sich in mannigfaltiger Form im Programm.“  
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Der steirische herbst ’15 eröffnete mit der installativen Konzertperformance Specter of the Gardenia oder Der Tag wird kommen von Johannes Maria Staud und Josef Winkler in der Helmut List Halle. Unter dem Leitmotiv Back to the Future. Relikte, Spuren und andere Hinterlassenschaften nahm das Festival in spielerischer Anlehnung an den gleichnamigen Science-Fiction-Klassiker den Gedanken des Erbes auf: „Unsere Gegenwart ist die Zukunft von Gestern.“

Das Festivalzentrum wurde von dem italienischen Architekturkollektiv orrizontale als retrofuturistische Raumstation im Innenhof des Graz Museums inszeniert. Die herbst-Ausstellung Hall of Half-Life (kuratiert von Tessa Giblin) zeichnete mit Installationen von unter anderem Lara Almarcegui, Geoffrey Farmer und Peter Galison eine „Archäologie der Zukunft“ im Festivalzentrum. Dort waren auch die Privatsammlung Recycled History von Joachim Hainzl und Gerard Byrnes Film Bright Sign als Auftragsarbeit zu sehen.

Darüber hinaus baute der steirische herbst seine Präsenz jenseits von Graz weiterhin aus: Das österreichische Künstlerkollektiv Fourdummies fuhr mit dem herbst-Vehikel übers Land und sammelte in Graz, Leoben und Vordernberg Zukunftsvisionen der Bewohner:innen und Festivalbesucher:innen.

Zu den Ur- und Erstaufführungen in Graz gehörten Mette Ingvartsens 7 PleasuresAdolf Hitler: Mein Kampf, Band 1 & 2von Rimini Protokoll (Helgard Haug, Daniel Wetzel), Black Moonshine von Theater im Bahnhof, die Episoden 7, 8, 9 von Life and Times des Nature Theater of Oklahoma und Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers Golden Hours (as you like it).

Programm

Eröffnung

Festivalzentrum

Theater / Performanz / Tanz

Bildende Kunst

Theorie / Diskurs

Film

Literatur

Musik

Festivaleröffnung

25.09., 19:30
Helmut List Halle
Johannes Maria Staud / Josef Winkler (AT) - Specter of the Gardenia oder Der Tag wird kommen 

Veranstaltungsorte

< rotor >

Barbarasäle Vordernberg

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Dreifaltigkeitskirche

Festivalzentrum im GrazMuseum

Festivalzentrum im GrazMuseum, Barbarasäle Vordernberg, Porubsky Halle Leoben

Festivalzentrum, ORF 2

Forum Stadtpark

Generalmusikdirektion

Grazer Kunstverein

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Hauptplatz Vordernberg

Heimatsaal im Volkskundemuseum, Porubsky Halle Leoben, Montanuniversität Leoben

Helmut-List-Halle

Kasematten

Kulturhalle Hart bei Graz

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Kunsthalle Graz

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunsthaus Graz / Space 04

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien

Lesliehof im Joanneumsviertel, Murinsel

MUMUTH

Murinsel, Lesliehof im Joanneumsviertel

ORF-Landesstudio

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Attems

Porubsky Halle Leoben

Radwerk III Vordernberg

Raithaus Vordernberg

ReSoWi-Zentrum der Universität Graz, Heimatsaal im Volkskundemuseum

Schaumbad-Freies Atelierhaus Graz

Schauspielhaus Graz

Schubertkino

esc medien kunst labor

tag.werk

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publikationen

Programmbuch des steirischen herbst 2015: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2015)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2015)

Tessa Giblin (Hg.), Hall of Half-Life (London: Dent-de-Leone, 2015)

Sabine Schaschl, Luigi Fassi, Museum Haus Konstruktiv und steirischer herbst, Tobias Putrih (Ljubljana: gurgur editions, 2015)

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive