2020

steirischer herbst ’20
Paranoia TV

Director
Ekaterina Degot

Festival dates
24.9.–18.10.2020

Curatorial team
Director and Chief Curator
Ekaterina Degot

Deputy Director
Henriette Gallus

Head of Curatorial Affairs
Christoph Platz

Senior Curator
David Riff

Curators
Mirela Baciak
Dominik Müller

“This year has been anything but ‘normal’ so far and many people are scared, paranoid even. Fear of a second wave is fostering an aversion to public spaces, filled with the breath of potentially contagious strangers. On a more fundamental level, we fear that we ourselves might be asymptomatically spreading the deadly virus. Such fears will not disappear any time soon. Imagining that life might never return to normal is hard enough on its own, but to look back on this normalcy from our current post-lockdown perspective is nothing short of horrifying. Clearly, the virus is not to blame for xenophobia, racism masked as a hygienic norm, ubiquitous surveillance, or radical inequality. These phenomena were all part of what was considered ‘normal.’ It is this ‘normal’ that brought us the virus. It is this ‘normal’ that we ought to fear.
Rather than suppressing this fear, steirischer herbst engages with it head on by reinventing itself as a media consortium called Paranoia TV: a platform for the uncanny and the unsettling, broadcasting from a dystopian parallel universe, where there is no such thing as reassurance. Social distancing practices are still in place, football games and parties are prohibited, and even the produce in the supermarket has ears. Art is home-delivered, artists have to work from their kitchens, the private sphere has become even more political, and the only way to explore public spaces is by sleepwalking alone. White cubes, expensive shipments, global jet-set travels: might it be that they will not be missed?
From 24 September to 18 October, Paranoia TV airs on a variety of platforms, vehemently fighting off the ‘normal formats,’ and diving headlong into the uncanny valley of lockdown nostalgia.”
Paranoia TV website

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, public space was shifted to the virtual realm in 2020. Despite, or perhaps specifically due to, the extraordinary circumstances, this third chapter fit into the concept of an ongoing, semi-fictitious mirror of society created by Ekaterina Degot and her team. “In harmony with its roots in the avant-garde,” the festival rigorously opened itself up to new formats. In reaction to the fears, psychoses, and uncertainties of its time, steirischer herbst ’20 reinvented itself as the media company Paranoia TV: a channel for the uncanny and the unsettling, broadcast from a dystopian parallel universe.

A virtual avatar of Sigmund Freud provided a first insight into this world. Brought back to life again with the help of deepfake technology as an “expert on paranoia,” the father of psychoanalysis explained what would await visitors on the new platform. Thanks to artificial intelligence and machine learning, the avatar responded to burning issues in interactive “therapy sessions” and discussed the fears and uncertainties of the present time with his patients.

On the opening day, hundreds of monitors distributed around the center of Graz broadcast a prerecorded opening speech by Degot, while she gave a different speech live in front of Orpheum. Grupa Ee created the graphic design with the look of a test pattern. A specially developed app offered around-the-clock access to the universe of Paranoia TV, with videos, audio dramas, series, live talks, and online games, such as Neïl Beloufa’s Screen Talk and Alexandra Pirici and Jonas Lund’s Year 01, in which users, guided by poetic text messages, had to get their bearings in everyday life during a lockdown.

The opening performance, Das Finale (The Final Match) by Janez Janša, was one of the few events that took place in physical space. The fifty-five commissioned works by more than fifty-two producers of art and collectives included: the essayistic documentation Artworks Made at Home by Ahmet Öğüt, in which works of more recent art history produced at home were presented; film productions by Dani Gal, Joanna Rajkowska, and John Smith; and TV series by Liv Schulmann, Lina Majdalanie and Rabih Mroué, and Tamar Guimarães.

Susanne Sachse, Marc Siegel, and Xiu Xiu presented the audio drama inspired by Paul B. Preciado (after Deleuze and Guattari) YOU’RE SO PARANOID, YOU PROBABLY THINK THIS RADIOSHOW IS ABOUT YOU, while Ingo Niermann’s web series Deutsch Süd-Ost (German Southeast) told of a bizarre German enclave settled by a species that feels under threat: “the last white men.” Furthermore, there was a popular photo booth by Akinbode Akinbiyi and art and printed matter by Roee Rosen, Judy Radul, Gelatin, and Studio Asynchrome for visitors to take home with them.

In “Ideas,” the discussion format of Paranoia TV, experts from art, politics, and philosophy, including Franco “Bifo” Berardi, Eva Illouz, Srećko Horvat, Adam Kleinman, Achille Mbembe, Milo Rau, Hito Steyerl, Natascha Strobl, and Yanis Varoufakis debated the current global situation, paranoia, and the virus.

Paranoia TV was supplemented by an extensive parallel program at local institutions, with a conference on utopian thinking at the Forum Stadtpark as well as musikprotokoll, STUBENrein, and Out of Joint as festivals within the festival. The Literature Festival, part of a three-year-long collaboration with the Literaturhaus Graz, took place for the first time in this year.

Program

Paranoia TV

Series

Film premieres

Online games

Radio play and podcast

Ideas

Performances

Give-aways

Interventions

Out of Joint

Conference

STUBENrein

Parallel Program

Festival opening

24.09., 8 pm
Janez Janša - Das Finale (2020)


 

Venues

Akademie Graz

Am Eisernen Tor

Aussichtsplattform Radetzkybrücke

Burgring

Dom im Berg

EUROSPAR Sackstraße & SPAR Central Train Station

Feldbach, Graz und Paranoia TV

Forum Stadtpark

Grazer Kunstverein

Helmut List Halle

Literaturhaus Graz

MUMUTH Haus für Musik und Musiktheater der Kunstuniversität Graz (KUG)

Museum der Wahrnehmung MUWA

Oper Graz

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Meran

Paranoia TV

Paranoia TV Zentrale

Schlossberghotel – Das Kunsthotel

esc medien kunst labor

Publications

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Paranoia TV Programmzeitschrift steirischerherbst’20 (Graz: 2020)

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff (eds.), There Is No Society? Individuals and Community in Pandemic Times (Cologne: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther und Franz König, 2021)

→  Available here

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff (eds.), Paranoia TV: steirischer herbst ’20 (Cologne: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther und Franz König, 2021)

→  Available here

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2020

steirischer herbst ’20
Paranoia TV

Intendanz
Ekaterina Degot

Festivaldaten
24.9.–18.10.2020

Kuratorisches Team
Intendantin und Chefkuratorin
Ekaterina Degot

Stellvertretende Intendantin
Henriette Gallus

Leiter der Kuratorischen Belange
Christoph Platz

Senior Curator
David Riff

Kurator:innen
Mirela Baciak
Dominik Müller

„Wir befinden uns mitten in einem Jahr, das bis jetzt alles andere als ‚normal‘ verlaufen ist. Viele Menschen sind verängstigt, wenn nicht gar ein bisschen paranoid. Die Angst vor einer zweiten Welle fördert eine Abscheu vor öffentlichen Räumen – und vor dem Atem potenziell ansteckender Fremder. Noch grundlegender aber ist die Angst vor uns selbst: Jeder von uns könnte das tödliche Virus asymptomatisch verbreiten. Diese Ängste werden so bald auch nicht verschwinden. Es ist schwer genug, sich vorzustellen, dass das Leben nie wieder zur Normalität zurückkehrt. Es ist jedoch nicht weniger beängstigend, sich heute, nach dem ‚Lockdown‘, an diese Normalität zu erinnern." "Offensichtlich ist das Virus nicht schuld an Fremdenfeindlichkeit, an einem als hygienische Norm getarnten Rassismus, an allgegenwärtiger Überwachung und an radikaler Ungleichheit. All das war bereits ‚normal‘, und es ist diese ‚Normalität‘, die das Virus hervorgebracht hat – und die wir fürchten sollten.
Anstatt diese Themen zu verdrängen, setzt sich der steirische herbst direkt mit ihnen auseinander, indem er sich als Medienkonzern neu erfindet. Paranoia TV nennt sich der Kanal für das Unheimliche und Beunruhigende, der aus einem dystopischen Paralleluniversum sendet, in dem es so etwas wie Kultur zur Besänftigung der Gemüter nicht gibt. Die Social-Distancing-Regeln gelten nach wie vor, Fußballspiele und Partys sind verboten, und selbst die Waren im Supermarkt haben Ohren. Kunst wird direkt nach Hause geliefert, Künstler*innen müssen in ihrer Küche arbeiten, das Private ist noch politischer geworden, und der öffentliche Raum lässt sich nur noch einsam und schlafwandlerisch durchqueren. White Cubes, teure Kunsttransporte und weltweite Jetset-Reisen: Könnte es sein, dass man sie nicht vermissen wird?"
"Zwischen 24. September und 18. Oktober sendet Paranoia TV auf den unterschiedlichsten Frequenzen. Die Sendungen sträuben sich vehement gegen ‚normale Formate‘ und tauchen kopfüber in das unheimliche Tal der ‚Lockdown‘-Nostalgie ein.“
—Paranoia TV website

Im Jahr 2020 wurde – pandemiebedingt – der öffentliche Raum ins Virtuelle verlegt. Trotz oder vielleicht gerade wegen der außergewöhnlichen Umstände passte dieses dritte Kapitel in das von Ekaterina Degot und ihrem Team angelegte Konzept eines fortlaufenden, semi-fiktiven Gesellschaftsspiegels. So ließ sich das Festival „im Einklang mit seinen Wurzeln in der Avantgarde“ rigoros auf neue Formate ein. In Reaktion auf die Ängste, Psychosen und Verunsicherungen seiner Zeit erfand sich der steirische herbst ’20 als Medienkonzern Paranoia TV neu: ein Kanal für das Unheimliche und Beunruhigende, der aus einem dystopischen Paralleluniversum sendet.

Ein virtueller Avatar von Sigmund Freud gab einen ersten Einblick in diese Welt. Durch Deepfake-Technologien wieder zum Leben erweckt, erklärte der Vater der Psychoanalyse als „Paranoia-Experte“, was Besucher:innen auf der neuen Plattform erwartete. Dank künstlicher Intelligenz und maschinellem Lernen beantwortete der Avatar in interaktiven „Therapiesitzungen“ brennende Fragen und unterhielt sich mit seinen Patient:innen über die Ängste und Unsicherheiten der heutigen Zeit.

Am Eröffnungstag strahlten hundert über die Grazer Innenstadt verteilte Monitore eine voraufgezeichnete Eröffnungsrede von Ekaterina Degot aus, während diese live vor dem Orpheum eine andere hielt. Das Grafikdesign im Testbild-Look stammte von Grupa Ee. Eine eigens entwickelte App bot rund um die Uhr Zugriff auf das Universum von Paranoia TVmit Videos, Hörspielen, Serien, Live-Talks und Onlinespielen wie Neïl Beloufas Screen Talk oder Year 01 von Alexandra Pirici und Jonas Lund, in dem man sich mit poetischen Textbotschaften im Lockdown-Alltag zurechtfinden musste.

Die Eröffnungsperformance Das Finale von Janez Janša war eine der wenigen, die im physischen Raum stattfand. Zu den 55 Auftragswerken von mehr als 52 Kunstschaffenden und Kollektiven gehörten unter anderem: die essayistische Dokumentation Artworks Made at Home von Ahmet Öğüt, in der Werke der jüngeren Kunstgeschichte vorgestellt wurden, die von zuhause aus produziert wurden; Filmproduktionen von Dani Gal, Joanna Rajkowska und John Smith; und TV-Serien von Liv Schulmann, Lina Majdalanie & Rabih Mroué und Tamar Guimarães.

Susanne Sachsse, Marc Siegel und Xiu Xiu präsentierten das von Paul B. Preciado (nach Deleuze und Guattari) inspirierte Hörspiel YOU’RE SO PARANOID, YOU PROBABLY THINK THIS RADIOSHOW IS ABOUT YOU, während Ingo Niermanns Web-Serie Deutsch Süd-Ost von einer bizarren deutschen Enklave erzählte, die von einer sich bedroht fühlenden Spezies besiedelt wird: „den letzten weißen Männern“. Weiterhin gab es einen populären Fotoautomaten von Akinbode Akinbiyi und Kunst und Druckwaren zum Mitnehmen von Roee Rosen, Judy Radul, Gelatin und Studio Asynchrome.

In Ideen, dem Diskussionsformat von Paranoia TV, debattierten Expert:innen aus Kunst, Politik und Philosophie, darunter Franco „Bifo“ Berardi, Eva Illouz, Srećko Horvat, Adam Kleinman, Achille Mbembe, Milo Rau, Hito Steyerl, Natascha Strobl und Yanis Varoufakis über die aktuelle Weltlage, Paranoia und das Virus. 

Ergänzt wurde Paranoia TV von einem umfangreichen Parallelprogramm lokaler Institutionen, einer Konferenz zu utopischem Denken im Forum Stadtpark sowie den Festivals im Festival musikprotokoll, STUBENrein und Out of Joint. Das Literaturfestival, Teil einer auf drei Jahre angelegten Kooperation mit dem Literaturhaus Graz, fand in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal statt.

Programm

Paranoia TV

Serien

Filmpremieren

Onlinespiele

Hörspiel und Podcast

Ideen

Performances

Give-aways

Interventionen

Out of Joint

Konferenz

STUBENrein

Parallelprogramm

Festivaleröffnung

24.09., 20:00
Janez Janša - Das Finale (2020)

Veranstaltungsorte

Akademie Graz

Am Eisernen Tor

Aussichtsplattform Radetzkybrücke

Burgring

Dom im Berg

EUROSPAR Sackstraße & SPAR Central Train Station

Feldbach, Graz und Paranoia TV

Forum Stadtpark

Grazer Kunstverein

Helmut List Halle

Literaturhaus Graz

MUMUTH Haus für Musik und Musiktheater der Kunstuniversität Graz (KUG)

Museum der Wahrnehmung MUWA

Oper Graz

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Palais Meran

Paranoia TV

Paranoia TV Zentrale

Schlossberghotel – Das Kunsthotel

esc medien kunst labor

Publikationen

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Paranoia TV Programmzeitschrift steirischerherbst’20 (Graz: 2020)

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff (Hg.), There Is No Society? Individuals and Community in Pandemic Times (Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther und Franz König, 2021)

→  Hier erhältlich

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff (Hg.), Paranoia TV: steirischer herbst ’20 (Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther und Franz König, 2021)

→  Hier erhältlich

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive