2011

steirischer herbst ’11
Second Worlds—Real and Unreal Parallel Systems

Director
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festival dates
23.9.–16.10.2011

Curatorial team
Chief Dramaturge & Curator: Florian Malzacher

Dramaturge: Kira Kirsch

Curatorial Advisor Visual Arts: Anne Faucheret

Artistic Assistance: Johanna Rainer

“‘Second Worlds’—the name of this year’s steirischer herbst—sets out in search of cultural, social, political and psychological parallel worlds: as conceptual alternatives, models of thought, levers for a change of paradigm that suddenly allow us to see things differently. Even with a minor shift of perspective and parameters, things start to slide. It depends on the beholder’s point of view and focus whether, when looking at this world, other worlds also become visible—as is the case in an optical illusion created by Arcimboldo, that is, at the same time, a landscape, a face and a mass of foodstuff. For there must be something that we can keep sight of as a possibility, an alternative, an option or a utopia—without fearing the other or exploiting it for cheap political exclusion propaganda. With seemingly no alternative pragmatism and short term, here & now politics, our society will be unable to solve current, as well as foreseeable problems.”
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler (original booklet translation)

Zweite Welten (Second Worlds), the leitmotif of steirischer herbst ’11, set out on a search for parallel cultural, social, political, and psychological worlds. Cesena provided the entry point, with choreography by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, music by Björn Schmelzer, and scenography by Ann Veronica Janssens, at the Helmut List Halle. Instead of a festival center, this year, there was a festival district on Mariahilferstraße, with a bar, shops, minibar parties and a cinema at the Hotel Mariahilf, and a club at the Kunsthaus Graz. Premieres and performative installations by Hans Rosenström, Ann Liv Young, Orthographe, and others were presented in room 113 of the hotel.

Other premieres and first performances were the song performance Time to Get Ready for Love by Theater im Bahnhof and Rodrigo Garcia’s Gólgota Picnic at Orpheum as well as Eszter Salamon’s disembodied science fiction choreography Tales of the Bodiless at the MUMUTH. The herbst exhibition Zweite Welt (Second World), conceived by the Croatian curator collective WHW (What, How & for Whom) at the Galerie Zimmermann Kratochwill and in the festival district, used “the potential of possible and impossible second worlds as a projection surface for an imaginary and political change of perspective” (with Jumana Emil Abboud, Yael Bartana, Bouchra Khalili, Daniel Knorr, Maha Maamoun, and others).

The project Hauntings at the Kunstverein Medienturm as well as a concert series in musikprotokoll and a film evening traced “secret and uncanny presences in media, art and pop,” and Hannah Hurtzig and Florian Malzacher organized a “conference on the dual citizenship of illness,” titled Der Patient (The Patient).

Program

Opening

Festival district

Theatre / Performance / Dance

Exhibitions

Music

Theory / Discourse / Playing Field Research

Festival opening

23.09., 7:30 pm
​Helmut List Halle
Anna Teresa De Keersmaeker / Björn Schmelzer (B) - Cesena
Mary Ocher (D/RUS) War Songs

Venues

< rotor >, Bulgarian Institute of Culture, Hamburg

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Dom im Berg, Grazer Stadtgebiet

ESC im LABOR

Festivaldistrikt: Bar, Mariahilferstraße

Festivaldistrikt: Club, Mariahilferstraße

Forum Stadtpark

Galerie Artelier Contemporary

Galerija Nova, Zagreb, festivaldistrikt Mariahilferstraße, Galerie Zimmermann Kratochwill

Generalmusikdirektion

Grazer Kunstverein

Grazer Stadtgebiet

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Helmut-List-Halle

Hotel Mariahilf

Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunstverein Medienturm

MUMUTH

Mariahilferstraße

Mursteg

Orpheum

Pavelhaus / Pavlova hisa

Theater am Lend

festivaldistrikt Mariahilferstraße

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publications

Program booklet of steirischer herbst 2011: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2011)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2011)

→  Available here

What, How & for Whom/WHW (ed.), Second world. Where is progress progressing? (steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Graz: 2011)

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2011

steirischer herbst ’11
Zweite Welten – Reale und irreale Parallelsysteme

Intendanz
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festivaldaten
23.9.–16.10.2011

Kuratorisches Team
Leitender Dramaturg & Kurator: Florian Malzacher

Dramaturgin: Kira Kirsch

Kuratorische Beratung Bildende Kunst: Anne Faucheret

Künstlerische Assistenz: Johanna Rainer

„‚Zweite Welten‘ – das Leitmotiv des diesjährigen steirischen herbst – fragt nach kulturellen, sozialen, politischen, psychologischen Parallelwelten: als gedankliche Alternativen, Denkmodelle, Hebel für Paradigmenwechsel, die uns plötzlich die Dinge anders sehen lassen. Den Blick, die Parameter etwas verschoben und schon geraten die Dinge ins Rutschen. Es hängt vom Standpunkt und Fokus des Betrachters ab, wie sehr im Blick auf diese Welt andere Welten sichtbar werden – wie bei einem Vexierbild von Arcimboldo, das Landschaft, Gesicht und eine Anhäufung von Lebensmitteln zugleich ist. Denn es muss etwas geben, das wir als Möglichkeit, als Alternative, als Option, als Utopie im Blick behalten können – ohne uns vor dem anderen zu fürchten oder es für billige politische Ausgrenzungspropaganda zu instrumentalisieren. Mit vermeintlich alternativlosem Pragmatismus und kurzfristiger Hier-und-jetzt-Politik wird unsere Gesellschaft die gegenwärtigen wie die absehbaren künftigen Probleme nicht lösen.“ 
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Zweite Welten, das Leitmotiv des steirischen herbst ’11, fragte nach kulturellen, sozialen, politischen und psychologischen Parallelwelten. Den Einstieg gestalteten Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (Choreografie) und Björn Schmelzer (Musik) mit Cesena in einer Szenografie von Ann Veronica Janssens in der Helmut List Halle. Statt eines Festivalzentrums gab es in diesem Jahr einen Festivaldistrikt in der Mariahilferstraße mit Bar, Laden, Minibar-Partys und Kino im Hotel Mariahilf und einem Club im Kunsthaus Graz. In Zimmer 113 des Hotels konnte man Uraufführungen und performative Installationen von Hans Rosenström, Ann Liv Young, Orthographe und anderen sehen.

Weitere Ur- und Erstaufführungen waren die Singperformance Time to get ready for love des Theater im Bahnhof und Rodrigo Garcías Gólgota Picnic im Orpheum sowie Eszter Salamons körperlose Science-Fiction-Choreografie Tales Of The Bodiless im MUMUTH. Die herbst-Ausstellung Zweite Welt, konzipiert vom kroatischen Kuratorinnenkollektiv WHW (What, How & for Whom), in der Galerie Zimmermann Kratochwill und im Festivaldistrikt nutze „das Potential möglicher und unmöglicher zweiter Welten als Projektionsfläche für imaginäre und politische Perspektivenwechsel“ (mit Jumana Emil Abboud, Yael Bartana, Bouchra Khalili, Daniel Knorr, Maha Maamoun und anderen).

Das Projekt Hauntings spürte im Kunstverein Medienturm sowie als Konzertreihe des musikprotokoll und an einem Filmabend „den heimlichen und unheimlichen Präsenzen in Medien, Kunst und Pop“ nach, und Hannah Hurtzig und Florian Malzacher organisierten unter dem Titel Der Patient eine „Konferenz über die doppelte Staatsbürgerschaft der Krankheit“. 

Programm

Eröffnung

Festivaldistrikt

Theater / Performanz / Tanz

Ausstellungen

Musik

Theorie / Diskurs / Spielfeldforschung

Festivaleröffnung

23.09., 19:30 
Helmut List Halle
Anna Teresa De Keersmaeker / Björn Schmelzer (B) - Cesena
Mary Ocher (D/RUS) War Songs

Veranstaltungsorte

< rotor >, Bulgarian Institute of Culture, Hamburg

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Dom im Berg, Grazer Stadtgebiet

ESC im LABOR

Festivaldistrikt: Bar, Mariahilferstraße

Festivaldistrikt: Club, Mariahilferstraße

Forum Stadtpark

Galerie Artelier Contemporary

Galerija Nova, Zagreb, festivaldistrikt Mariahilferstraße, Galerie Zimmermann Kratochwill

Generalmusikdirektion

Grazer Kunstverein

Grazer Stadtgebiet

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Helmut-List-Halle

Hotel Mariahilf

Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunstverein Medienturm

MUMUTH

Mariahilferstraße

Mursteg

Orpheum

Pavelhaus / Pavlova hisa

Theater am Lend

festivaldistrikt Mariahilferstraße

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publikationen

Programmbuch des steirischen herbst 2011: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2011)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2011)

Sabine Breitwieser (Hg.), Utopie und Monument. Ausstellung für den öffentlichen Raum. steirischer herbst 2009 - 2010 (Wien-New York: Springer-Verlag, 2011) 

What, How & for Whom/WHW (Hg.), Second world. Where is progress progressing? (steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Graz: 2011)

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive