2003

steirischer herbst ’03
Europe

Director
Peter Oswald

Festival dates
19.9.–30.11.2003

Curatorial team
Assistant to the Director, Literature: Sabine Achleitner

Dramaturge: Wolfgang Hofer

“This year’s graphical theme of steirischer herbst 2003 replaces the verbal mottoes of previous festivals. While many programme items in 2002 revolved around the notion of the foreign body, and the 2001 festival focused on the rebellious subject, the programme in the year of the cultural capital of Europe Graz 2003 explores key issues relating to the identity, history and future of Europe.
As an explorative festival, this year again steirischer herbst provides a forum for artistic manifestation that reflect current social and cultural change, thereby focusing on the repositioning of European identity ad the resurgent contrast to the USA. In addition to authors, it is above all composers, directors and choreographers who feature in the steirischer herbst programme, with this year’s focus on a wide range of different works of (music) theatre.”
—Peter Oswald (original booklet translation)

Graz was the European Capital of Culture in 2003, which explains the choice of Europa (Europe) as the motto of steirischer herbst ’03. The official opening was held at the Opernhaus with Olga Neuwirth as keynote speaker, music by Robyn Schulkowsky and Iannis Xenakis, performances by Neuwirth and Schulkowsky, and a concert with early works by Wolfgang and Christian Muthspiel. A high point was unquestionably the premiere of insideout, a choreographic installation by Sasha Waltz with music by Rebecca Saunders in the new Helmut List Halle, which had been inaugurated in January with the staged performance of Beat Furrer’s musical theater work Begehren (Desire). The hall made it possible for the audience to circulate freely on an open stage between twenty performers and ten musicians.

Other important theater highlights and thematic focuses were the Dry Clean Show by Lisa D., with music by Wolfgang Mitterer, as well as the musical theater piece Das Theater der Wiederholungen (The Theater of Repetition) by Bernhard Lang and Lost Highway by Olga Neuwirth, after the film by David Lynch, whose work was featured in a retrospective at the Schubert cinema. The Tyrolian author Händl Klaus was selected as young playwright of the year by Theater heute and invited to the Berliner Theatertreffen with his piece (wilde)—der mann mit den traurigen augen ([Wild]—The Man with the Sad Eyes).

In the field of visual art, the project Balkan Konsulat, which had already begun the previous year, went into its second round with a focus on Sarajevo (curator: Lejla Hodžić). An exhibition, film series, and seminar at the Grazer Kunstverein chronicled Vom Horror in der Kunst (About Horror in Art; curator: Eva-Maria Stadler).

Program

Scenic Art

Visual Arts

Architecture

Film

Literature

Music

Interdisciplinary

Styria

herbst on tour

Festival opening

19.9., 7 pm
Opening with Olga Neuwirth (Opening Speech)
Robyn Schulkowsky, Iannis Xenakis: Psappha (Music)
Olga Neuwirth, Robyn Schulkowsky (Performance)
Wolfgang Muthspiel, Christian Muthspiel (Concert)

Venues

< rotor >, vipers im thienfeld, celery´s_the juice bar

Architektur Stage

Brauhaus Puntigam

Café Weitzer

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

ESC im LABOR

Filmzentrum im Rechbauerkino

Forum Stadtpark

Forum Stadtpark, Gasthof Dorrer

Galerie & Edition Artelier

Galerie Bleich-Rossi

Galerie CC

Galerie Centrum

Galerie Glacis

Galerie Kunst & Handel

Galerie Lendl

Galerie Schafschetzy

Grazer Kunstverein

Grazer Stadtgebiet

Grenzbrücke Mureck

HOTEL RHIZOM

Helmut-List-Halle

Jahrhunderthalle, Bochum, Helmut-List-Halle

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunsthaus Mürzzuschlag

Kunstmagazin Hell

Künstlerhaus

Laßnitzhaus, Deutschlandsberg

Laßnitzhaus, Deutschlandsberg, Helmut-List-Halle

MUWA, Museum der Wahrnehmung

Medienturm

Minoriten-Galerien Graz

Neue Galerie/Studio Graz

Orpheum

PPC

Palais Meran

Pavelhaus / Pavlova hisa

Pell Mell

Rauchsalon Schauspielhaus

Saal Steiermark (Grazer Congress)

Scher-Halle der Böhler Bleche GmbH

Schloss Retzhof

Schloßbergplatz

Schloßbergrestaurant

Schubertkino

Tetrapack am Südtirolerplatz

Theater im Palais

Tummelplatz

Volksbühne Berlin am Rosa Luxemburg Platz

Weberhaus, Weiz

Workshop Graz

k3, Pischelsdorf

Publications

Program booklet of steirischer herbst 2003: steirischer herbst Veranstaltungs GmbH, steirisc[:her:]bst (Graz: 2003)

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2003

steirischer herbst ’03
Europa

Intendanz
Peter Oswald

Festivaldaten
19.9.–30.11.2003

Kuratorisches Team
Assistenz der Intendanz, Literatur: Sabine Achleitner

Dramaturgie: Wolfgang Hofer

„Das graphische Sujet für den steirischen herbst 2003 ersetzt diesmal die verbalen Motti der vorangegangenen Festivals. Kreisten 2002 viele Programmpunkte um den Begriff Fremdkörper, stand 2001 das rebellierende Subjekt im Mittelpunkt, so widmet sich das Programm im Jahr der europäischen Kulturhauptstadt Graz 2003 zentralen Fragen der europäischen Identität, Geschichte und Zukunft.“ 
„Als Zeiterkundungsfestival bietet der steirische herbst heuer wieder ein Forum für künstlerische Manifestationen an, die den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Wandel reflektieren und damit auch die Neupositionierung der europäischen Identität und den wieder aufgeflammten Gegensatz zu den USA thematisieren. Neben AutorInnen sind es vor allem Komponisten und Komponistinnen, Regisseure und Choreographinnen, die das Programm des steirischen herbst, in dessen Mittelpunkt diesmal (musik)theatralische Werke unterschiedlichster Form stehen, bestreiten.“ 
—Peter Oswald

Im Jahr 2003 war Graz europäische Kulturhauptstadt – weshalb das Festival unter dem Motto Europa stand. Die feierliche Eröffnung fand im Opernhaus mit Olga Neuwirth als Rednerin, Musik von Robyn Schulkowsky und Iannis Xenakis, Performances von Neuwirth und Schulkowsky sowie einem Konzert mit frühen Stücken von Wolfgang und Christian Muthspiel statt. Ein Höhepunkt war zweifellos die Uraufführung von insideout, einer choreografischen Installation von Sasha Waltz mit Musik von Rebecca Saunders in der neuen Helmut List Halle, die bereits im Jänner mit der szenischen Uraufführung von Beat Furrers Musiktheater Begehren eingeweiht worden war. Die Halle ermöglichte es dem Publikum, frei zwischen den zwanzig Performer:innen und zehn Musiker:innen auf einer offenen Bühne zu zirkulieren.

Weitere wichtige Bühnenhighlights und thematische Schwerpunkte waren die Dry Clean Show von Lisa D. mit Musik von Wolfgang Mitterer sowie die Musiktheaterstücke Das Theater der Wiederholungen von Bernhard Lang und Lost Highwayvon Olga Neuwirth, nach dem gleichnamigen Film von David Lynch, dessen Werk eine Retrospektive im Schubertkino gewidmet war. Der Tiroler Autor Händl Klaus wurde für sein Stück (wilde) – der mann mit den traurigen augen von Theater heute zum Nachwuchsdramatiker des Jahres gewählt und zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen.

Im Bereich der bildenden Kunst ging das bereits im Vorjahr gestartete Projekt Balkan Konsulat mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Sarajevo in die zweite Runde (Kuratorin: Lejla Hodžić). Eine Ausstellung, Filmreihe und Tagung im Grazer Kunstverein erzählte Vom Horror in der Kunst (Kuratorin: Eva-Maria Stadler). 

Programm

Szenische Kunst

Bildende Kunst

Architektur

Film

Literatur

Musik

Interdisziplinäres

Steiermark

herbst on tour

Festivaleröffnung

19.9., 19:00
Eröffnung mit Olga Neuwirth (Eröffnungsrede)
Robyn Schulkowsky, Iannis Xenakis: Psappha (Musik)
Olga Neuwirth, Robyn Schulkowsky (Performance)
Wolfgang Muthspiel, Christian Muthspiel (Konzert)

Veranstaltungsorte

< rotor >, vipers im thienfeld, celery´s_the juice bar

Architektur Stage

Brauhaus Puntigam

Café Weitzer

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

ESC im LABOR

Filmzentrum im Rechbauerkino

Forum Stadtpark, Gasthof Dorrer

Galerie & Edition Artelier

Galerie Bleich-Rossi

Galerie CC

Galerie Centrum

Galerie Glacis

Galerie Kunst & Handel

Galerie Lendl

Galerie Schafschetzy

Grazer Kunstverein

Grazer Stadtgebiet

Grenzbrücke Mureck

Helmut-List-Halle

Jahrhunderthalle, Bochum, Helmut-List-Halle

Kunsthaus Graz

Kunsthaus Mürzzuschlag

Kunstmagazin Hell

Künstlerhaus

Laßnitzhaus, Deutschlandsberg

Laßnitzhaus, Deutschlandsberg, Helmut-List-Halle

MUWA, Museum der Wahrnehmung

Medienturm

Minoriten-Galerien Graz

Orpheum

PPC

Palais Meran

Pavelhaus / Pavlova hisa

Pell Mell

Rauchsalon Schauspielhaus

Saal Steiermark (Grazer Congress)

Scher-Halle der Böhler Bleche GmbH

Schloss Retzhof

Schloßbergplatz

Schloßbergrestaurant

Schubertkino

Tetrapack am Südtirolerplatz

Theater im Palais

Tummelplatz

Volksbühne Berlin am Rosa Luxemburg Platz

Weberhaus, Weiz

Workshop Graz

k3, Pischelsdorf

Publikationen

Programmbuch des steirischen herbst 2003: steirischer herbst Veranstaltungs GmbH, steirisc[:her:]bst (Graz: 2003)

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive