Ekaterina Degot

2018–

The Moscow-born art historian, author, and curator Ekaterina Degot, who was appointed in April 2017, was the first artistic director from a non-German-speaking country. Degot had made a name for herself with exhibitions that critically examined the cultural history of the former Soviet Union as well as international shows such as the first Bergen Assembly, in 2013. As the recipient of the renowned Igor Zabel Award in 2014, her “critical positions on the official politics of her home country” were highlighted—a stance that she maintained in her new home in Austria.

In conjunction with Degot’s start as artistic director and chief curator, other appointments were made, including Henriette Gallus as deputy artistic director, Christoph Platz as head of curatorial affairs (with a focus on curating as production), David Riff, Degot’s long-standing colleague, as curator for discourse and subsequently senior curator, and as curators Dominik Müller (starting in 2018), Övül Ö. Durmusoglu and Katalin Erdödi (both in the first year), and Mirela Baciak (in the second and third years). The cultural education department was renamed the Office of Open Questions (until 2021). Rita Puffer became the chief financial officer in 2020. The altered titles and responsibilities of the core team reflected the restructuring of the festival.

Degot concentrated the individual strands of the festival into one single exhibition with a core program spread out over multiple locations to a much greater extent than her predecessor, Veronica Kaup-Hasler, who had left her mark on the festival during her twelve years as artistic director. Degot curated this exhibition herself in cooperation with the team listed above; there were no longer any externally curated projects like the herbst exhibition.

Each edition started with a very personal opening speech presenting the curatorial concept in a performance. The festival was to transform Graz into a stage each year and be spread out over the entire city “as an exhibition interwoven with performances and discussions,” as Degot stated in the welcoming address to her first steirischer herbst in 2018, with the provocatively ambivalent title Volksfronten (Popular Fronts).

By concentrating on a continuous parcours whose elements are time- and site-specific and rigorously reject division into genres, Degot decisively altered the festival’s structure. A festival pass providing free access to almost all the exhibitions and events in the core program for the duration of the festival was introduced in 2018, at a cost of twenty-nine euros. In the first year, 2,200 visitors purchased the festival pass (due to the changed circumstances during the COVID-19 pandemic, it was done away with in the third and fourth year). Prior to the opening, the online magazine Vorherbst presented preparatory and accompanying material and information on the current edition of steirischer herbst.

The festival’s look also radically changed, not least because of the striking graphic design by the Grupa Ee collective from Ljubljana, in which martial-looking forms and symbols were overlaid and the festival title “steirischer herbst” was crossed through. The pocket-sized program booklet was replaced by a guidebook of the sort that is familiar from biennials. A division into categories such as visual and performing art was done away with in the first year, while, in the second year, a distinction was made between installations and performances as components of equal status in the parcours.

Discourse and theory formats were part of the staging as “ideas,” while the staging was oriented toward as broad an audience as possible and emphasized the festival’s role as a forum for public art with site-specific and sociopolitical aspirations—not so much on a theoretical level, but instead as a sort of political magazine addressed to the public intellect. Furthermore, a reader with essays and extensive documentation of the festival was published retroactively for each edition of steirischer herbst. Another retrospective endeavor undertaken under Degot’s artistic direction was a historical reappraisal of the festival and its archive, for which a separate position was created.

musikprotokoll, which has been a fixed component of steirischer herbst from the beginning, was the only series listed as a “traditional partner festival.” Exhibitions and events by cultural institutions in Graz that were not curated by Degot and her team formed the accompanying or parallel program. Local initiatives were involved in a transparent and democratic procedure by means of an open call.

The festival began more intensive, long-term collaborations with various local partners: the Theater im Bahnhof, a self-managed theater collective that had already been a frequent guest under Kaup-Hasler; CLIO, an association for critical history and education work; and the Literaturhaus, in cooperation with which the three-year festival Out of Joint was initiated. Between 2019 and 2021, steirischer herbst also incorporated the project STUBENrein, situated in the remote town of Murau, as a partner festival.

Among the locations that were fixed components of the core program in the first editions were the Palais Attems as the headquarters of steirischer herbst, the Forum Stadtpark, the Künstlerhaus Graz, the Helmut List Halle, Orpheum, and many other locations that were selected based on the theme of the parcours as historical and social spaces with their own specific histories.

Under Degot’s artistic direction, particular attention has been given to the production of new, site-specific works, which comprise up to one hundred percent of the festival. Many of the commissioned works were created through long-term involvement and research work as well as by taking into account, in the words of Degot, “urban and regional narratives in their at times bizarre relation to global processes.” She stated that true to the original concept of the trigon biennial, making social and political urgencies in Austria a subject of discussion was to go hand in hand with an international orientation—with a traditional focus on artists from Central and Eastern Europe. Since inequality and nationalism continue to spread in Eastern and Western Europe, it is of vital importance for the festival in 2018—just as it was in 1968—to “rekindle this interest in the search for points of connection and solidarity.” Particularly the feeling of marginality as it can be experienced in Styria encourages “sensitivity to other frontier regions, where the purported normalcy of the global order appears in all its surreality and weirdness on the fringes.”1

The titles of the first four editions specifically reflected this surreal uncanniness of Graz as a historical “bulwark”: Volksfronten (Popular Fronts, 2018), Grand Hotel Abyss (2019), Paranoia TV (2020), and The Way Out (2021). In accordance with these suggestively ambivalent parameters, which are less of a theme than a catalyst for opening up spaces for ideas—and the conditions, which changed in a very concrete way in 2020 and 2021 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic—the stagings and particularly the openings were shifted from institutional and ceremonial spaces to the virtual sphere, and, with the last edition for the moment, out of institutions and into public space. When direct contact with the audience became practically impossible in the year of lockdown, the program shifted primarily to screens and the digital realm. In the following year, with the easing of COVID-19 restrictions, the festival left the “safe” institutional framework and specifically sought encounters with an uninitiated audience.

1
Ekaterina Degot, “About,” steirischer herbst, https://www.steirischerherbst.at/en/about/6/steirischer-herbst, accessed 13 August, 2021.

Bio

Photo: Marija Kanizaj

Ekaterina Degot
(1958, Moscow)

Art historian, curator, author, and journalist

1981 graduated Lomonosov Moscow State University as an art historian
2004 PhD in art history, Russian Institute for Cultural Research

1987–93 Senior Researcher at Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
1993–2000 Staff Art Critic and Columnist (arts, culture, society, politics) at Kommersant daily, Moscow
2000s Columnist (culture, society, politics) at Vedomosti and other newspapers and magazines in Moscow
2008–12 Senior Editor (Arts Section) of the online cultural magazine OpenSpace.ru
2014–18 Artistic Director of the Academy of Arts of the World, Cologne, initiator of the biannual interdisciplinaryfestival Pluriversale

Awards
2010 and 2014 Innovacia State prize for the best curatorial project in Russia
2014 Igor Zabel Award for Culture and Theory (main award)

Teaching (selection)
1998 Fulbright Scholar at William & Mary, Williamsburg, VA
2007–17 Professor at Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia

Exhibitions (selection)
2000–03 Body Memory: Underwear of the Soviet Era (with Julia Demidenko). State Museum of the History of St Petersburg. Helsinki City Museum. Austrian Museum of Folk Life and Folk Art, Vienna.
2003–04 Berlin–Moscow / Moscow–Berlin 1950–2000 (with Jürgen Harten et al.). Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin. State Historical Museum, Moscow.
2001 Russian Pavilion at the Venice Biennial.
2005 Soviet Idealism. Musée de l’art wallon, Liège.
2008 Struggling for the Banner: Soviet Art Between Trotzky and Stalin. New Manege, Moscow.
2008 Citizens, Mind Yourselves: Dimitri Prigov. MMoMA—Moscow Museum of Modern Art.
2009 Kudymkar – Engine for the Future. PERMM—Perm Museum of Contemporary Art / Winzavod CCA, Moscow.
2010 Shockworkers of the Mobile Image (with Cosmin Costinas and David Riff). First Ural Industrial Biennial, Yekaterinburg (main project).
2011 Auditorium Moscow (with Joanna Mytkowska and David Riff), a self-educational initiative and an international exhibition. Fourth Moscow Biennial. White Chambers (Belye Palaty).
2012 Art After the End of the World. Discussion platform of Arsenale: The First Kiev Biennial of Contemporary Art.
2012 Time/Food (with Anton Vidokle and Julieta Aranda). Stella Art Foundation, Moscow.
2013 Monday Begins on Saturday (with David Riff). First Bergen Assembly.
2013–14 What Did the Artist Want to Say with That? (with Yuri Albert). MMoMA—Moscow Museum of Modern Art.

Publications (selection)
Ed. with Marta Dziewańska and Ilya Budraitskis: Post-Post-Soviet? Art, Politics and Society in Russia at the Turn of the Decade. Warsaw: Museum of Modern Art – Chicage University Press, 2013.
Ed. with David Riff and Jan Sowa: Perverse Decolonization? Berlin: Archive Books, 2021 (in print).

Festival editions

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

Ekaterina Degot

2018–…

Mit der in Moskau geborenen Kunsthistorikerin, Autorin und Kuratorin Ekaterina Degot wurde im April 2017 zum ersten Mal eine nicht aus dem deutschen Sprachraum stammende Intendantin ernannt. Degot war unter anderem für Ausstellungen bekannt, die sich kritisch mit der Kulturgeschichte der ehemaligen Sowjetunion auseinandersetzten, sowie für internationale Schauen wie die erste Bergen Assembly 2013. Die Preisträgerin des renommierten Igor Zabel Awards wurde 2014 unter anderem für ihre „kritischen Stellungnahmen gegenüber der offiziellen Politik ihres Heimatlandes“ geehrt – eine Einstellung, die sie auch in ihrer neuen Heimat Österreich nicht ablegte.

Mit Degot als Intendantin und Chefkuratorin begannen Henriette Gallus als Stellvertretende Intendantin, Christoph Platz als Leiter der Kuratorischen Belange (mit Schwerpunkt auf Kuratieren als Produktion), Degots langjähriger Mitarbeiter David Riff als Kurator für Diskurs, später Senior Curator, und weitere Kurator:innen: Dominik Müller seit 2018, im ersten Jahr auch Övül Ö. Durmusoglu und Katalin Erdödi, im zweiten und dritten Mirela Baciak. Die Kulturvermittlung nannte sich (bis 2021) in Büro der Offenen Fragen um. Leiterin der kaufmännischen Belange wurde 2020 Rita Puffer. Die geänderten Titelbezeichnungen des Kernteams und die damit verbundenen Verantwortlichkeiten deuteten bereits eine Umstrukturierung des Festivals an.

Deutlich mehr noch als ihre Vorgängerin Veronica Kaup-Hasler, die in den zwölf Jahren ihrer Intendanz das Festival entscheidend geprägt hatte, verdichtete Ekaterina Degot die einzelnen Festivalstränge zu einer einzigen, über mehrere Orte verteilten Ausstellung mit einem Kernprogramm. Dieses wurde von ihr selbst zusammen mit dem oben genannten Team kuratiert – extern kuratierte Projekte wie etwa die herbst-Ausstellung gab es fortan nicht mehr.

Jede Ausgabe startete mit einer sehr persönlich gehaltenen Eröffnungsrede, die performativ das kuratorische Konzept vorstellte. Das Festival solle Graz jedes Jahr aufs Neue in eine Bühne verwandeln und sich „gleich einer Ausstellung, die von Performances und Diskussionen durchzogen wird“, über die gesamte Stadt erstrecken, so Degot im Grußwort zu ihrem ersten herbst 2018 unter dem provokant-ambivalenten Titel Volksfronten.

Durch die Konzentration auf einen fortlaufenden „Parcours“, der sich sowohl räumlich als auch zeitlich entfaltet und eine Unterteilung nach Gattungen rigoros ablehnt, veränderte Degot die Struktur des Festivals entscheidend. Zum ersten Mal wurde ein Festivalpass eingeführt, mit dem man für den einmaligen Preis von 29 Euro über die gesamte Festivaldauer freien Zugang zu fast allen Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen des Kernprogramms hatte. Im ersten Jahr wurde er von 2200 Besucher:innen genutzt (aufgrund der durch die Corona-Pandemie veränderten Voraussetzungen wurde der Festivalpass im dritten und vierten Jahr ausgesetzt). Das Onlinemagazin Vorherbst präsentierte bereits vor der Eröffnung umfangreiches vorbereitendes und begleitendes Material und Informationen zum jeweiligen steirischen herbst.

Auch das visuelle Erscheinungsbild änderte sich radikal, nicht zuletzt durch die markante grafische Gestaltung des Designkollektivs Grupa Ee aus Ljubljana, in der sich martialisch anmutende Formen und Symbole überlagern und der Schriftzug „steirischer herbst“ durchgestrichen ist. Aus den Programmheften im Taschenformat wurden Guidebooks, wie man sie eher von Biennalen her kennt. Eine Aufteilung in Sparten wie bildende und darstellende Kunst wurde im ersten Jahr aufgehoben, im zweiten wurde zwischen Installationen und Performances als gleichwertige Bestandteile des Parcours unterschieden.

Diskurs- und Theorie-Formate waren als „Ideen“ Bestandteil der Inszenierung, die sich an ein möglichst breites Publikum richtete und die Rolle des Festivals als ein Form öffentlicher Kunst mit ortsspezifischem und gesellschaftspolitischem Anspruch betonte – weniger auf theoretischer Ebene, sondern als eine Art Politmagazin, das an den öffentlichen Intellekt gerichtet ist. Zu jedem herbst erschien im Nachhinein außerdem ein Reader mit Textbeiträgen und einer umfangreichen Dokumentation des Festivals. Rückwirkend fand unter Ekaterina Degots Intendanz auch eine historische Aufarbeitung des Festivals und seines Archivs statt, wofür eine eigene Stelle geschaffen wurde.

Das musikprotokoll wurde als einzige Reihe, die seit Beginn ein fester Bestandteil des steirischen herbst ist, als „traditionelles Partnerfestival“ gelistet. Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen Grazer Kultureinrichtungen, die nicht von Ekaterina Degot und ihrem Team selbst kuratiert wurden, bildeten das Begleit- oder Parallelprogramm. Die Beteiligung lokaler Initiativen wurde durch einen „Open Call“ transparent und demokratisch gestaltet.

Mit einigen lokalen Partnern ging das Festival intensivere langfristige Kollaborationen ein. Diese waren das Theater im Bahnhof, ein selbstverwaltetes Theaterkollektiv, das bereits unter Kaup-Hasler häufig zu Gast war, der kritische Verein für Geschichts- und Bildungsarbeit CLIO und das Literaturhaus, mit dem das über drei Jahre angelegte Festival Out of Joint initiiert wurde. Zwischen 2019 und 2021 nahm der steirische herbst zudem das im abgelegenen Murau situierte Projekt STUBENrein als Partnerfestival mit auf.

Zu den Orten, die in den ersten Ausgaben weiterhin fester Bestandteil des Kernprogramms waren, zählen das Palais Attems als „Headquarter“ des steirischen herbst, das Forum Stadtpark, das Künstlerhaus Graz, die Helmut List Halle, das Orpheum, sowie zahlreiche weitere Orte, die als historische und gesellschaftliche Räume mit ihren eigenen spezifischen Geschichten je nach Thematik des Parcours ausgewählt wurden.

Ein besonderes Augenmerk unter Ekaterina Degots Intendanz lag und liegt weiterhin auf der Produktion neuer, ortsspezifischer Werke, die bis zu hundert Prozent des Festivals ausmachen. Viele der Auftragsarbeiten entstanden auf der Basis längerfristigen Engagements und Forschungsarbeit sowie unter Berücksichtigung der, so die Intendantin, „urbanen und regionalen Narrative in ihrer zuweilen grotesken Beziehung zu globalen Prozessen“. Die Thematisierung sozialer und politischer Dringlichkeiten in Österreich sollte ausgehend vom ursprünglichen trigon-Gedanken Hand in Hand gehen mit einer internationalen Ausrichtung – wobei ein Fokus traditionsgemäß auf Künstler:innen aus Mittel- und Osteuropa lag. Während sich nach wie vor Ungleichheit und Nationalismus in Ost- wie Westeuropa ausbreiten, sei es von entscheidender Bedeutung für das Festival 1968 wie 2018, „das Interesse für die Suche nach Verbindungspunkten und Solidarität erneut zu wecken“. Gerade das Gefühl der Grenzlage, wie es in der Steiermark erfahrbar ist, begünstige „die Sensibilität für andere Grenzregionen, wo die Normalität der globalen Weltordnung in all ihrer Surrealität und unheimlichen Seltsamkeit an deren Rändern auftaucht“.1

Die Titel der ersten vier Ausgaben spiegelten ebendiese surreale Unheimlichkeit der Stadt Graz als historisches „Bollwerk“ wider: Volksfronten (2018), Grand Hotel Abyss (2019), Paranoia TV (2020) und The Way Out (2021). Gemäß diesen suggestiv-ambivalenten Vorgaben, die weniger als Thema fungierten, als Gedankenräume eröffneten, – und den 2020/2021 durch die Corona-Pandemie ganz konkret veränderten Bedingungen – verlagerten sich die Inszenierungen und insbesondere die Eröffnungen von institutionellen und repräsentativen Räumen in den virtuellen Raum und, mit der vorerst letzten Ausgabe, hinaus aus den Institutionen und hinein in den öffentlichen Raum. Nachdem im Jahr des Lockdowns ein direkter Publikumskontakt kaum möglich war und das Programm weitgehend über Bildschirme und den digitalen Äther ablief, verließ das Festival im Folgejahr mit den Covid-Lockerungen den „sicheren“ institutionellen Rahmen und suchte ganz konkret die Begegnung mit dem uneingeweihten Publikum.

1
Ekaterina Degot, „Über Uns“, steirischer herbst, https://www.steirischerherbst.at/de/about/6/steirischer-herbst, aufgerufen am 2.8.2021.

Biografie

Foto: Marija Kanizaj

Ekaterina Degot
(*1958 in Moscow)

Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin, Autorin und Journalistin

1981 Abschluss an der Lomonossow-Universität Moskau als Kunsthistorikerin
2004 Doktorat in Kunstgeschichte, Russisches Institut für Kulturforschung

1987–93 Leitende wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, Tretjakow-Galerie, Moskau
1993–2000 Kunstkritikerin und Kolumnistin (Kunst, Kultur, Gesellschaft, Politik), Tageszeitung Kommersant, Moskau
2000er Kolumnistin (Kultur, Gesellschaft, Politik), Vedomosti sowie andere Zeitungen und Zeitschriften in Moskau
2008–12 Leitende Redakteurin (Kunstressort) des Online-Kulturmagazins OpenSpace.ru
2014–18 Künstlerische Leiterin der Akademie der Künste der Welt, Köln, Initiatorin des zweijährlichen interdisziplinären Festivals Pluriversal

Auszeichnungen
2010 und 2014 Innovacia Staatspreis für das beste kuratorische Projekt in Russland
2014 Igor Zabel Award for Culture and Theory (Hauptpreis)

Lehrtätigkeit (Auswahl)
1998 Fulbright-Stipendiatin, William & Mary, Williamsburg, Virginia
2007–17 Professorin, Alexander-Rodtschenko-Schule für Fotografie und Neue Medien

Ausstellungen (Auswahl)
2000–03 Körpergedächtnis. Unterwäsche einer sowjetischen Epoche (mit Julia Demidenko). Staatliches Museum der Geschichte Sankt Petersburg. Volkskundemuseum Wien.
2003–04 Berlin–Moscow / Moscow–Berlin 1950–2000 (mit Jürgen Harten et al.). Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin. Staatliches Historisches Museum, Moskau.
2001 Russischer Pavillon bei der Biennale von Venedig.
2005 Soviet Idealism. Musée de l’art wallon, Lüttich.
2008 Struggling for the Banner. Soviet Art Between Trotzky and Stalin. Neue Manege, Moskau.
2008 Citizens, Mind Yourselves. Dimitri Prigov. MMoMA – Moskauer Museum für moderne Kunst.
2009 Kudymkar – Engine for the Future. PERMM – Staatliches Kunstmuseum Perm / Winzavod CCA, Moskau.
2010 Shockworkers of the Mobile Image (mit Cosmin Costinas und David Riff). Erste Ural Industrial Biennial, Jekaterinburg (Hauptprojekt).
2011 Auditorium Moscow (mit Joanna Mytkowska und David Riff), eine Selbstbildungsinitiative und eine internationale Ausstellung. Vierte Moskauer Biennale. Weiße Kammern (Belye Palaty).
2012 Art After the End of the World. Diskussionsplattform von Arsenale: Erste Kiewer Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst.
2012 Time/Food (mit Anton Vidokle und Julieta Aranda). Stella Art Foundation, Moskau.
2013 Monday Begins on Saturday (mit David Riff). First Bergen Assembly.
2013–14 What Did the Artist Want to Say with That? (mit Yuri Albert). MMoMA – Moskauer Museum für moderne Kunst.

Veröffentlichungen (Auswahl)
Hg. mit Marta Dziewańska und Ilya Budraitskis: Post-Post-Soviet? Art, Politics and Art, Politics and Society in Russia at the Turn of the Decade. Warschau: Museum of Modern Art – Chicage University Press, 2013.
Hg. mit David Riff und Jan Sowa: Perverse Decolonization? Berlin: Archive Books, 2021 (im Druck).

Festivalausgaben

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive