2018

steirischer herbst ’18
Volksfronten

Director
Ekaterina Degot

Festival dates
20.9.–14.10.2018

Curatorial team
Director and Chief Curator
Ekaterina Degot

Deputy Director
Henriette Gallus

Head of Curatorial Affairs
Christoph Platz

Curators
Övül Ö. Durmusoglu
Katalin Erdödi
Dominik Müller

Curator for Discourse
David Riff

Assistant Curators
Birgit Pelzmann
Johanna Rainer

General Advisor
Georg Schöllhammer

“The core program of this year´s steirischer herbst is called Volksfronten. The title—deliberately kept in German and in the plural—is as disturbing as it is ambivalent. Many a visitor, and not just German-speaking ones, will scowl, if not shiver, at the sight of ‘Volk,’ stirring up, as it does, the darkest memories. Allegedly innocent, this word marks the slow, early 20th-century shift, in Germany and Austria, from the civic understanding of the notion of ‘people’ to its purely ethnic and racial iteration, which facilitated and propagandized the advent of nationalism and fascism. …
steirischer herbst’s main project this year, curated by the festival team, explores these issues through what can be understood and experienced as a single expanded exhibition spread through town and over many venues. Some of its elements are installations, others performances, and others still symposia or panel discussions—under the overall title Ideas— all specific to the larger parcours in time and space.
There is a decisive focus on Graz’s locality, shaped and overwritten by a troubling, partially-repressed history.”
—guidebook

With Volksfronten (Popular Fronts)—an unsettling and ambivalent title that connotes both left-wing, anti-fascist alliances and the nationalistically appropriated term Volk, was intentionally written in the plural form and always in German—the first steirischer herbst under Ekaterina Degot reacted to a climate increasingly being poisoned by right-wing populism, nationalistic sentiments, racial or ethnic segregation, and media manipulation. She wrote in her preface to the guidebook, “In our current time, all over the world, the state propaganda machine, rising xenophobia, anti-refugee politics, and the complicity of the ‘entitled’ population in those structures that maintain its privileges offer astonishing and alarming déjà vus of the 1930s.”

Untypically, the opening took place on the left bank of the Mur River at the perhaps most public place in Graz, on Europaplatz in front of the central railway station—in the open air and accessible to all. In her speech, the artistic director asked random passersby rhetorical questions, ranging from “Excuse me, could you tell me where the tram station is?” to “Pardon, but are you interested in contemporary art?” to “Excuse me, are you for or against immigration?” or “Might I ask a question: Do you hoard Nazi memorabilia in your home?”

The legendary New York-based Bread & Puppet Theater then led a public parade along Keplerstraße to Mariahilferplatz—a spectacle very much in line with the progressive populism under which Degot positioned her tenure as artistic director as a whole. On the opposite, right side of the Mur, Roman Osminkin staged his first open-air performance, Putsch (After D. A. Prigov), on the stairs to the Schloßberg (in common parlance the “Russian Stairs”), followed by Laibach’s Sound of Music on the Kassematten stage, a new presentation of the well-known musical and Hollywood film that associates the Alpine ideal, and its forgetting of history, with North Korea.

The festival parcours continued at historically significant public places throughout the city, in site-specific works by Rossella Biscotti and Kevin van Braak on the public square Am Eisernen Tor, Igor & Ivan Buharov at the Volkshaus Graz, which steirischer herbst used for the first time, Henrike Naumann at the Haus der Architektur, Yoshinori Niwa on Hauptplatz (with a container for disposing of Nazi memorabilia), Funda Gül Özcan at the former Ankara Türkü Bar on Griesgasse, and Milica Tomić at the Forum Stadtpark (with archeological research work on a concentration camp in southern Styria).

There were also plays by Michael Portnoy and Roee Rosen at Orpheum, as well as Ivan Vyrypaev’s The Iran Conferenceat the University of Graz. The Russian ZIP Group installed a monumental sculpture with the slogan of the Yugoslavian partisans, “Death to fascism, freedom to the people!” on the roof of the Chamber of Labor, and the Theater im Bahnhof (a self-proclaimed “Volkstheater” collective) invited visitors on a taxi choreography through Graz, in which the drivers staged their own tours through the city and took visitors to the infamous Pascha nightclub, among other places.

Our Little Fascisms was the title of a series of interviews and discussions with Ewa Majewska and Ishay Landa, among others, that took place over two days at Orpheum, and the Symposium on Photography XXI, organized by Camera Austria, investigated the Gewalt der Bilder (Violence of Images). The two events and other thematic evenings were part of the “Ideas” section, with free admission. musikprotokoll, directed by Elke Tschaikner in 2018, took place independently of the core program and included contributions by ZULI, Kurt Hentschläger, and the Klangforum Wien, among others.

Program

Volksfronten

Ideas

Collateral Program

Festival opening

20.09., 5 pm
Europaplatz - Keplerstraße - Mariahilferplatz 
Bread & Puppet Theater, The Underneath the Above Parade #1

7:30 pm
Schloßbergplatz, Schloßbergstiege
Roman Osminkin, Putsch (After D.A. Prigov)

9 pm
Schloßbergbühne Kasematten
Laibach, Laibach´s Sound of Music


 

Venues

Akademie Graz

Am Eisernen Tor

Andreas-Hofer-Platz

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Ehemalige Ankara Türkü Bar

Hauptplatz

Haus der Architektur

Helmut List Halle

Hotel Daniel Graz

Hotel Wiesler, Frühling

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Aula (Auditorium)

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Heizhaus

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Literaturhaus Graz

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Schloßbergbühne Kasematten

Schloßbergplatz, Schloßbergstiege

Volkshaus Graz

Volkshochschule Steiermark (Arbeiterkammer, Dach)

esc medien kunst labor

Publications

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Guide Book steirischer herbst ’18 (Graz: 2018)

→  Available here

Ekaterina Degot and David Riff, Volksfronten. Popular Fronts (Berlin: Hatje Cantz Verlag, 2019)

→  Available here

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2018

steirischer herbst ’18
Volksfronten

Intendanz
Ekaterina Degot

Festivaldaten
20.9.–14.10.2018

Kuratorisches Team
Intendantin und Chefkuratorin
Ekaterina Degot

Stellvertretende Intendantin
Henriette Gallus

Leiter der Kuratorischen Belange
Christoph Platz

Kurator:innen
Övül Ö. Durmusoglu
Katalin Erdödi
Dominik Müller

Kurator für Diskurs
David Riff

Assistenzkuratorinnen
Birgit Pelzmann
Johanna Rainer

Berater für Übergreifende Fragen
Georg Schöllhammer

„Der Titel des Kernprogramms des diesjährigen steirischen herbst lautet Volksfronten. Der Titel – absichtlich im Plural und stets auf Deutsch – ist ebenso verstörend wie ambivalent. Viele Besucher*innen, und nicht nur die deutschsprachigen, werden angesichts des Wortes ‚Volk‘, das dunkle Erinnerungen heraufbeschwört, die Stirn runzeln oder gar erschaudern. Dieses vermeintlich unschuldige Wort markiert den langsamen Wandel, der sich im frühen 20. Jahrhundert in Deutschland und Österreich vollzog: Vom bürgerlichen Verständnis des ‚Volkes‘ hin zu seiner rein ethnischen und rassischen Iteration, die den Aufstieg des Nationalismus und Faschismus begünstigte und propagierte.

Das vom Festivalteam kuratierte Kernprogramm der diesjährigen Ausgabe des steirischen herbst erkundet diese Thematiken vor dem Hintergrund einer erweiterten Gesamtausstellung, die als solche an zahlreichen Orten der Stadt verstanden und erfahren werden kann. Einige ihrer Elemente sind Installationen, andere Performances und wieder andere Symposien oder Podiumsdiskussionen, die unter dem zusammenfassenden Titel Ideen stehen; sie alle sind genaue Setzungen im größeren Parcours, räumlich und zeitlich.
Es gibt einen entschiedenen Fokus auf das Lokale, das von einer verstörenden und teilweise verdrängten Geschichte geprägt und überschrieben ist.“
—Guidebook

Mit Volksfronten – der verstörende wie ambivalente Titel, der sowohl linke, antifaschistische Bündnisse wie das nationalistisch vereinnahmte „Volk“ konnotiert, wurde absichtlich im Plural und stets auf Deutsch geschrieben – reagierte der erste steirische herbst unter Ekaterina Degot auf ein zunehmend von Rechtspopulismus, völkischem Sentiment, rassischer oder ethnischer Segregation und medialer Manipulation vergiftetes Klima: „Staatliche Propagandamaschinen, zunehmende Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Antiflüchtlingspolitik und die Mitschuld der – sich stets ‚berechtigt‘ fühlenden – Bevölkerung an jenen Strukturen, die ihre Privilegien aufrecht erhalten, erzeugen heutzutage weltweit erstaunliche alarmierende Déjà-vus, die an die 1930er-Jahre erinnern“, schrieb Degot in ihrem Vorwort zum Guidebook.

Die Eröffnung fand untypischerweise links der Mur auf dem wohl öffentlichsten Ort von Graz, dem Europaplatz vor dem Hauptbahnhof, statt – im Freien und offen für alle. In ihrer Rede stellte die Intendantin rhetorische Fragen an zufällige Passant:innen, die von „Entschuldigen Sie, können Sie mir sagen, wo die Straßenbahnhaltestelle ist?“ über „Verzeihung, interessieren Sie sich für zeitgenössische Kunst?“ zu „Entschuldigung, sind Sie für Einwanderung oder dagegen?“ oder „Gestatten Sie eine Frage: Horten Sie Nazi-Devotionalien in Ihrer Wohnung?“ reichten.

Danach führte das legendäre New Yorker Bread & Puppet Theater mit einer öffentlichen Parade durch die Keplerstraße zum Mariahilferplatz – ein Spektakel ganz im Sinne des progressiven Populismus, unter den Degot ihre gesamte Intendanz stellte. Auf der gegenüberliegenden rechten Murseite inszenierte Roman Osminkin auf der Schloßbergstiege (im Volksmund „Russenstiege“) sein erstes Open-Air-Stück Putsch (After D. A. Prigov), gefolgt von Laibach’s Sound of Music auf der Kassemattenbühne, eine Neuinterpretation des berühmten Musicals und Hollywood-Films, die die geschichtsvergessene alpenländische Idylle mit Nordkorea assoziiert. 

Der Festival-Parcours setzte sich an historisch signifikanten Plätzen in der ganzen Stadt fort, in ortsspezifischen Arbeiten von Rossella Biscotti und Kevin van Braak Am Eisernen Tor, Igor & Ivan Buharov im erstmalig vom steirischen herbst genutzten Volkshaus Graz, Henrike Naumann im Haus der Architektur, Yoshinori Niwa am Hauptplatz (mit einem Entsorgungscontainer für NS-Devotionalien), Funda Gül Özcan in der ehemaligen Ankara Türkü Bar in der Griesgasse oder Milica Tomić im Forum Stadtpark (mit einer archäologischen Recherche zu einem südsteirischen KZ).

Darüber hinaus gab es Bühnenstücke von Michael Portnoy und Roee Rosen im Orpheum sowie Ivan Vyrypaevs The Iran Conference in der Universität Graz. Die russische ZIP Group installierte auf dem Dach der Arbeiterkammer eine Monumentalskulptur mit dem Slogan der jugoslawischen Partisanen „Tod dem Faschismus, Freiheit für das Volk!“, und das Theater im Bahnhof (ein selbsternanntes „Volkstheater“-Kollektiv) lud zu einer Taxichoreografie durch Graz ein, in der die jeweiligen Fahrer:innen ihre eigenen Touren durch Graz inszenierten und Besucher:innen unter anderem in den berüchtigten Nachtclub Pascha führten. 

Our Little Fascisms war der Titel einer Reihe von Interviews und Diskussionen unter anderem mit Ewa Majewska und Ishay Landa, die an zwei Tagen im Orpheum stattfand, und das von Camera Austria veranstaltete Symposion über Fotografie XXI widmete sich der Gewalt der Bilder. Die beiden Veranstaltungen und weitere Themenabende fanden bei freiem Eintritt in der Sparte Ideen statt. Das musikprotokoll 2018 lief unter der Leitung von Elke Tschaikner unabhängig vom Kernprogramm und umfasste unter anderem Beiträge von ZULI, Kurt Hentschläger und dem Klangforum Wien.

Programm

Volksfronten

Ideen

Begleitprogramm

Festivaleröffnung

20.09., 17:00
Europaplatz - Keplerstraße - Mariahilferplatz 
Bread & Puppet Theater, The Underneath the Above Parade #1
19:30
Schloßbergplatz, Schloßbergstiege
Roman Osminkin, Putsch (After D.A. Prigov)
21:00
Schloßbergbühne Kasematten
Laibach, Laibach´s Sound of Music

 

Veranstaltungsorte

Akademie Graz

Am Eisernen Tor

Andreas-Hofer-Platz

Camera Austria

Dom im Berg

Ehemalige Ankara Türkü Bar

Hauptplatz

Haus der Architektur

Helmut List Halle

Hotel Daniel Graz

Hotel Wiesler, Frühling

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Aula (Auditorium)

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Heizhaus

Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Literaturhaus Graz

Orpheum

Orpheum Extra

Schloßbergbühne Kasematten

Schloßbergplatz, Schloßbergstiege

Volkshochschule Steiermark (Arbeiterkammer, Dach)

esc medien kunst labor

Publikationen

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, Guide Book steirischer herbst ’18 (Graz: 2018)

→  Hier erhältlich

Ekaterina Degot und David Riff, Volksfronten. Popular Fronts (Berlin: Hatje Cantz Verlag, 2019)

→  Hier erhältlich

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive