ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra

Concert / Premiere


5.10.19, 19:30

Composition: Roman Haubenstock-Ramati, Brahim Kerkour, Oxana Omelchuk, Yuval Shaked, and Mikheil Shugliashvili
ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Ilan Volkov

Congress Graz, Stefaniensaal

Part of
musikprotokoll 2019

Production specifics
The compositions by Yuval Shaked and Brahim Kerkour were commissioned by ORF musikprotokoll. The composition by Oxana Omelchuk is an Emil Breisach composition commissioned by ORF musikprotokoll. The score for the composition Polychronia was copublished by Boosey & Hawkes and ORF musikprotokoll for the first time for this occasion.

Mikheil Shugliashvili (1941–1996) was an extremely important teacher who served as an example for an entire generation of young composers. However, many of his works created for large orchestras were never performed in Soviet Georgia. In 2019 musikprotokoll rediscovers Shugliashvili and his energetic constructivist approach with the first-ever performance of his orchestral work Polychronia, which has been published for the first time for this occasion. In this concert his music is played in combination with premiering commissioned works by composers from the vicinity of Europe who could veritably be described as his “second-generation” students: music by Moroccan composer Brahim Kerkour, Belarusian composer Oxana Omelchuk, and Israeli composer Yuval Shaked. Also included in the program is a work by Roman Haubenstock-Ramati (1919–1994), who was active for many years in Israel and considered the aesthetic progenitor of all of these composers.