RSO Wien / Klangforum Wien
Un concert grandiose

Concert / Premiere in German-speaking countries



musikprotokoll 2014

Production specifics
Das Auftragswerk von Georg Friedrich Haas ist eine Kooperation von ORF musikprotokoll, steirischer herbst, Wiener Konzerthaus, ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien & WIEN MODERN

Budget cuts? Even smaller instrumentations? In response to this, the hard-pressed forces are simply focused in “Un concert grandiose – Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra & Klangforum Wien” – pure luxury. Never before have Austria’s two finest orchestras for contemporary music performed a piece on stage together. Now the time has come: the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra is now set to make music with Klangforum Wien. The piece – a “concerto grosso” for chamber ensemble and orchestra – was written by the composer Georg Friedrich Haas. The idea behind the work was to combine the orchestral sense of sound with the subtleties of an ensemble-style collective of soloists, thus creating a musical genre that is as new as it is luxurious. The ensemble as an essential vehicle of contemporary music as we know it today came into being in the latter half of the 20th century as a collective of soloists. Klangforum as a soloist and the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra as an orchestra now set out for new musical horizons.

Komponistin / Komponist: Jörn Arnecke
Komponistin / Komponist: Pierluigi Billone
Komponistin / Komponist: Georg Friedrich Haas
Orchester: RSO Wien
Orchester: Klangforum Wien
Musikalische Leitung: Cornelius Meister
Musikalische Leitung: Clement Power