Gander / Neuwirth / Pintscher / Saunders
Amphigory - Unsinn und Ansinnen / RSO Wien




musikprotokoll 2009

For the first time in its history, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra has taken on a First guest conductor – and of course, it is one of the most important experts for the contemporary repertoire: Symbolically, Peter Eötvös commences his engagement at the ORF Radio Symphony Orchestra at musikprotokoll, the festival with which, every year, ORF and Ö1 demonstrate their expertise in the field of New Music in Austria. Commissioned works by Olga Neuwirth and Bernhard Gander bill alongside new international pieces by Briton Rebecca Saunders and German Matthias Pintscher.

The younger generation of composers is also aware of the outstanding artistic energy of this very special orchestra – Bernhard Gander makes it clear in the title of his new piece “Lovely Monster” for the Radio Symphony Orchestra. We hear renowned soloists performing with the orchestra. The young viola star Antoine Tamestit plays Olga Neuwirth’s new piece, while the young American soprano Marisol Montalvo turns into “Herodiade”, who glimpses into the depths of her desires in a dialogue with her mirror image. On the basis of this scene that builds on a poem by Mallarmé, the composer Matthias Pintscher develops a vibrant orchestral landscape with a woman’s voice, but leaves what are perhaps her most important words unaccompanied: “J’attends une chose inconnue”.

Komponistin / Komponist: Bernhard Gander
Komponistin / Komponist: Olga Neuwirth
Komponistin / Komponist: Matthias Pintscher
Komponistin / Komponist: Rebecca Saunders
Orchester: RSO Wien
Musikalische Leitung: Peter Eötvös
Musikerin / Musiker: Antoine Tamestit
Sängerin / Sänger: Marisol Montalvo