2017

steirischer herbst ’17
Where Are We Now? Retrospective Views, Presentiments & Departures into the Unknown

Director
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festival dates
22.9.–15.10.2017

Curatorial team
Chief Dramaturge: Martin Baasch

Dramaturge: Wilma Renfordt

Curator Visual Art: Luigi Fassi

Curator Soundtracks: Norman Palm

Artistic Assistance & Cooperations Visual Arts: Johanna Rainer

musikprotokoll: Susanna Niedermayr, Elke Tschaikner, Fränk Zimmer

“2017—a very special steirischer herbst. Like musikprotokoll, steirischer herbst is taking place for the fiftieth time. Beyond the traditional dictates of celebration and reflection, we want to take this arbitrary timestamp of a big-0 birthday as an occasion reassess herbst itself and what we are doing; to ask all the institutions and artists involved some fundamental questions regarding the role of art in society. This is indeed one of the pressing questions at a time when ‘post truth’ was not only voted word of the year, but also has become a reality in our media-pervaded digital age, resulting in real political facts such as the election of Donald Trump as US president that no one had foreseen.
So what has art been able to accomplish in recent decades that have been increasingly marked by economisation, nationalism and diminishing solidarity? As artworlders, do we ultimately operate in a filter bubble that has absolutely no influence on the reality of society as a whole? Who do we reach with our actions? These are questions that subject the activity of art to self-critical scrutiny and that we should never tire of asking. Constantly in search of answers with shrewdness, charm and audacity.”
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler (original booklet translation)

In 2017, steirischer herbst celebrated its fiftieth anniversary. It was also the final year under Veronica Kaup-Hasler’s twelve-year artistic direction. Where Are We Now? asked the leitmotif, inspired by the late David Bowie. “You cannot ask this question without thinking about what lies behind us and how we ended up at this point—or what might come next, both artistically and politically,” as Kaup-Hasler wrote in her preface to the program booklet. She emphasized in retrospect that her interpretation of the festival has again and again examined “above all … connecting the arts, the equal standing of artistic works in a wide range of different spheres—from music, visual art, theatre, performance, dance and architecture to literature.”

For the opening, the renowned choreographer Mette Ingvartsen experimented at the Helmut List Halle with “sensual, erotic, and social body language.” After years of roaming, the festival center returned to the headquarters of steirischer herbst at the Baroque Palais Attems. In addition to various generally interactive installations and performances (by Yoko Shimizu and Isabel Lewis, among others), the leitmotif was taken up there in a two-day “philosophical canteen” as a “joint attempt to define our position in theory and practice.” The herbst exhibition, Prometheus Unbound (curated by Luigi Fassi), was presented at the Neue Galerie.

The centerpiece of the festival was the first film adaptation of Elfriede Jelinek’s magnum opus Die Kinder der Toten (The Children of the Dead) of 1995—a “ghost novel [that] eloquently debunks undead clichés about Austria and national pathos … on 666 pages” (program booklet)—with members of the Nature Theater of Oklahoma under the direction of Kelly Cooper and Pavol Liska. Work on the project had already been taking place for two years—the film shoots at original locations in and around Neuberg an der Mürz were simultaneously live performances in which visitors were invited to get involved and participate. The film, which premiered at the 69th Berlin International Film Festival in 2019, was probably one of the most complex productions of steirischer herbst.

In conjunction with the fiftieth anniversary, the publications Where Are We Now? and the herbstbuch 1968–2017 were also published.

Program

Theater / Dance / Performance / Film

Festival centre / Crossover

Discourse / Literature / Documentary

Die Kinder der Toten

Visual Arts

Music

Festival opening

22.09., 7:30 pm
​Helmut List Halle
Mette Ingvartsen (DK) - to come (extended)
10 pm
​Helmut List Halle
Die Vögel (Elektro-Brass-Duo) 

Venues

< rotor >

Akademie Graz

Camera Austria

Congress Graz, Foyer, Helmut-List-Halle

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal, Mausoleum, Helmut-List-Halle

Congress Graz, Stefaniensaal

Dom im Berg

Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems Graz

Forum Stadtpark, Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

GrazMuseum

Grazer Kunstverein

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Helmut-List-Halle

Kunsthalle Graz

Kunsthaus Graz / Space 01

Kunsthaus Mürzzuschlag

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien

Leechkirche, QL-Galerie, Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Literaturhaus Graz, Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

MUMUTH

Neue Galerie Graz

ORF 2

ORF-Landesstudio

Orpheum

Palais Attems

Schauspielhaus Graz

VAZ Mürzer Oberland

designforum Steiermark, Akademie Graz, Stadtwerke-Haus (Holding Graz)

esc medien kunst labor

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publications

Program booklet of steirischer herbst 2017: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2017)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2017)

→  Available here

Martin Behr, Martin Gasser, Johanna Hierzegger (Eds.), herbstbuch. 1968–2017 (Vienna-Graz-Klagenfurt: Styria Verlag, 2017)

→  Available here

Veronika Kaup-Hasler, Christiane Kühl, Andreas R. Peternell, Wilma Rendfordt (Eds.), Where are we now? Positionen zum Hier und Jetzt (Berlin: The Green Box Kunst Editionen Berlin, 2017)

→  Available here

Luigi Fassi (Ed.), steirischer herbst, Der entfesselte Prometheus. Prometheus Unbound (Milan: Mousse Publishing, 2017)

→  Available here

Retrospective
Retrospective
Retrospective

2017

steirischer herbst ’17
Where Are We Now? Rückblicke, Ahnungen & Aufbrüche ins Unbekannte

Intendanz
Veronica Kaup-Hasler

Festivaldaten
22.9.–15.10.2017

Kuratorisches Team
Leitender Dramaturg: Martin Baasch

Dramaturgin: Wilma Renfordt

Kurator Bildende Kunst: Luigi Fassi

Kurator Soundtracks: Norman Palm

Künstlerische Assistenz & Kooperationsprojekte Bildende Kunst: Johanna Rainer

Musikprotokoll: Susanna Niedermayr, Elke Tschaikner, Fränk Zimmer

„2017 – ein ganz besonderer steirischer herbst. Der steirische herbst wie auch das musikprotokoll finden zum 50. Mal statt. Diese von der Zeit willkürlich gesetzte Markierung eines runden Geburtstags wollen wir jenseits des überkommenen Feier- und Besinnungsgebots zum Anlass nehmen, den herbst selbst und unser Tun zu überdenken, den beteiligten Institutionen, Künstlerinnen und Künstlern grundsätzliche Fragen zur Rolle der Kunst in der Gesellschaft zu stellen. Dies ist in der Tat eine der brennenden Fragen in einer Zeit, in der das ‚Post-Faktische‘ nicht nur zum Wort des Jahres gekürt wurde, sondern auch eine Realität in unserem medialisierten digitalen Zeitalter ist und reale politische Fakten zur Folge hat, wie etwa die Wahl von Donald Trump zum amerikanischen Präsidenten, die kaum jemand so vorgesehen hatte. 
Was also konnte Kunst bewirken in den letzten Jahrzehnten, die zunehmend geprägt sind von Ökonomisierung, Nationalismus und Entsolidarisierung? Agieren wir Kulturschaffende letztlich in einer Filterblase, die keinerlei Einfluss auf die gesamtgesellschaftliche Realität hat? Wen erreichen wir mit unserem Tun? – Fragen, die das Handeln der Kunst selbstkritisch überprüfen und die wir nicht müde werden sollten weiter zu stellen. Und mit Klugheit, Charme und Frechheit beständig nach Antworten zu suchen.“ 
—Veronica Kaup-Hasler

2017 feierte der steirische herbst sein 50-jähriges Bestehen – gleichzeitig war es das letzte Jahr unter Veronica Kaup-Haslers mittlerweile zwölfjähriger Intendanz. Where Are We Now? fragte das Leitmotiv frei nach dem späten David Bowie. „Man kann diese Frage nicht stellen, ohne sich Gedanken darüber zu machen, was hinter uns liegt und wie wir an diesem Punkt gelandet sind – oder wie es denn weitergehen könnte, künstlerisch und politisch.“ So Kaup-Hasler in ihrem Vorwort zum Programmheft. Sie betont rückblickend, dass ihre Interpretation des Festivals „vor allem das Verschränken von Künsten, die Gleichwertigkeit künstlerischen Schaffens in unterschiedlichen Bereichen – von Musik, bildender Kunst, Theater, Performance, Tanz, Architektur bis hin zur Literatur – immer wieder zur Disposition gestellt“ habe.

Zur Eröffnung experimentierte die gefeierte Choreografin Mette Ingvartsen in der Helmut List Halle mit „sinnlichen, erotischen und sozialen Körpersprachen“. Das Festivalzentrum kehrte nach Jahren des Herumschweifens in das Hauptquartier des steirischen herbst in das barocke Palais Attems ein. Neben verschiedenen, meist interaktiven Installationen und Performances (etwa von Yoko Shimizu oder Isabel Lewis) wurde dort in einer zweitägigen „Philosophierkantine“ das Leitmotiv als „gemeinsamer Verortungsversuch in Theorie und Praxis aufgegriffen“. Die herbst-Ausstellung Prometheus Unbound (kuratiert von Luigi Fassi) fand in der Neuen Galerie statt.

Das Herzstück des Festivals bildete jedoch die erstmalige filmische Adaption von Elfriede Jelineks Opus magnum Die Kinder der Toten von 1995 – ein „Gespensterroman, [der auf 666  Seiten] sprachgewaltig mit untoten Österreich-Klischees und nationalem Pathos auf[räumt]“ (Programmheft) – mit Mitgliedern des Nature Theater of Oklahoma unter der Leitung von Kelly Cooper und Pavol Liska. Zwei Jahre war bereits an dem Projekt gearbeitet worden – die Dreharbeiten an Originalschauplätzen in und um Neuberg an der Mürz waren gleichzeitig Live-Performances, an denen Besucher:innen an mehreren Samstagen teilhaben und mitmachen konnten. Der Film feierte 2019 im Rahmen der 69. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin Premiere und gehörte zu den wohl aufwendigsten Produktionen des steirischen herbst.

Zum 50. Jubiläum erschienen außerdem die Publikationen Where Are We Now? und das herbstbuch. 1968–2017.

Programm

Theater / Tanz / Performance / Film

Festivalzentrum / Crossover

Diskurs / Literatur / Dokumentation

Die Kinder der Toten

Bildende Kunst

Musik

Festivaleröffnung

22.09., 19:30
Helmut List Halle
Mette Ingvartsen (DK) - to come (extended)
22:00
​Helmut List Halle
Die Vögel (Elektro-Brass-Duo) 

Veranstaltungsorte

< rotor >

Akademie Graz

Camera Austria

Congress Graz, Foyer, Helmut-List-Halle

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal

Congress Graz, Kammermusiksaal, Mausoleum, Helmut-List-Halle

Congress Graz, Stefaniensaal

Dom im Berg

Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

Forum Stadtpark, Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

GrazMuseum

Grazer Kunstverein

HDA - Haus der Architektur Graz

Helmut-List-Halle

Kunsthalle Graz

Kunsthaus Graz / Space 01

Kunsthaus Mürzzuschlag

Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien

Leechkirche, QL-Galerie, Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten

Literaturhaus Graz, Festivalzentrum im Palais Attems

MUMUTH

Neue Galerie Graz

ORF 2

ORF-Landesstudio

Orpheum

Palais Attems

Schauspielhaus Graz

VAZ Mürzer Oberland

designforum Steiermark, Akademie Graz, Stadtwerke-Haus (Holding Graz)

esc medien kunst labor

the smallest gallery - collaboration space

Publikationen

Programmbuch des steirischen herbst 2017: steirischer herbst festival gmbh, steirischer HERBST (Graz: 2017)

steirischer herbst festival gmbh, herbst. Theorie zur Praxis (Graz: 2017)

Martin Behr, Martin Gasser, Johanna Hierzegger (Hg.), herbstbuch. 1968–2017 (Wien-Graz-Klagenfurt: Styria Verlag, 2017)

Veronika Kaup-Hasler, Christiane Kühl, Andreas R. Peternell, Wilma Rendfordt (Hg.), Where are we now? Positionen zum Hier und Jetzt (Berlin: The Green Box Kunst Editionen Berlin, 2017)

→  Hier erhältlich

 

Luigi Fassi (Hg.), steirischer herbst, Der entfesselte Prometheus. Prometheus Unbound (Mailand: Mousse Publishing, 2017)

Retrospektive
Retrospektive
Retrospektive